Topic
What are the considerations, conflicts of interest, and/or consequences of creating fake news? Before determining an answer, you must first set up categories, define criteria, and provide statistical data.
Using the Industry Research Guide will give you a start toward identifying who owns which companies.
Use Statistical Insight for statistics (located under UTSA databases).
Data
- Statista This link opens in a new windowA wide variety of statistics on news perception, ownership, and the news market.
- Pew Research Journalism ProjectArticles and reports on the issues affecting journalism and the media. Look for the State of the Media (right under the tabs) reports for an overview of the major issues affecting the news.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.
Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily - ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowContains a wealth of business and financial information, both current and historical across three databases. Global offers full text of both scholarly and trade journals, market and industry reports, as well as dissertations and working papers. Trade & Industry is focused on specific companies, executives, products and trends. Dateline contains city, state, and regional company and market news. Coverage: 1984-present. Updated daily.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncorporates the indexes CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication and mass media studies. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals and selected coverage of over 230 more, with full-text articles for more than 240 journals. Coverage for some titles begins in 1915.