A service of SBRnet. Provides access to market research from the National Sporting Goods Association, government sources and various sports governing bodies and full-text articles from trade magazines and newsletters. Includes sports participation, sports fan market research, consumer expenditures for sporting good equipment and footwear, venue reports, college athletics revenues and expenditures; and directories. Coverage: current.
Provides full-text access to international research literature on sport, physical fitness, and physical education topics. Offers comprehensive coverage of literature pertaining to sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, and related disciplines. Some journal, thesis, and monograph coverage dates from 1800, with full-text coverage beginning in 1985.
Provides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.
Sport, and in particular the sporting environment, has undergone significant changes in recent decades. The social significance and commercialization of sport; the use of new technologies and organizational structures; and the involvement of various stakeholders matter more today than ever before. The authors explain the key characteristics of the management of sports organizations.
This guide to theory and practice in sport management provides a broad ranging survey of current thinking in contemporary sport management, Key topics include: managing performance ,marketing, human resource management, the economics and finance of sport, strategy, managing change, governance of sports organizations, customer relations, branding, and retail.
This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.
Explores the development and influence of sports in American culture, as well as how sports icons, commercial enterprises, organizations, sporting events, and even fan culture have changed from decade to decade and from era to era, from the foot races of colonial times to the extreme sports of today.
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Covers training and education needed for hundred of occupations, earnings, expected job prospects, job responsibilities, working conditions, and more. Search for sports to locate relevant occupations.