Sport Management

This guide provides resources and search tips for researching sports management

Key Databases

In addition to the key databases on the Getting Started page, please explore the following for market research on sport-related topics::

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed industry market reports for the U.S., based on the NAICS classification. Reports include industry performance, lifecycle, products and markets, supply chain, operating conditions, regulation and policy, key competitors, barriers to entry, outlook, and more. Specialized Industry Reports address more narrowly defined product/service segments or emerging industries.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,000 in-depth market research reports by Mintel analysts focusing on consumer goods, travel, health and well-being, technology, retail, and food and drink in the U.S., U.K., and western Europe. Includes market segmentation, size and trends, brand share analysis, supply structure, advertising, retail distribution, consumer lifestyles and attitudes, and more.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Focus on consumer goods and services. Provides access to market research data, country reports, company profiles, and statistics on countries, consumers, and industries for over 350 markets and 205 countries. Demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide, as well as several years of historic market size data for many consumer products in multiple countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Consumer lifestyles, companies and brands. Formerly known as GMID (Global Market Information Database).

Statistics in Sports
From the American Statistical Association. A collection of links for different sports.
International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Statistics
World records and top lists.
Equity in Athletic Data Analysis Cutting Tool
By the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. Provide reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data. The data are drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database. Annual data are submitted annually as required by the Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act (EADA) by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
NCAA Statistics

Selected NAICS Industry Codes for Sports
Use NAICS 2017 keyword search on the left menu. Search for sports.

Limited free content: