Runner Research Press Information for Authors

As of the Fall 2023 semester, the UTSA Graduate School requires that all theses and dissertations are submitted electronically to both the ProQuest Theses and Dissertations database and the Runner Research Press, UTSA's open access repository. Information about the submission process and deadlines can be found on the Graduate School's website below. 

The Runner Research Press contains electronic UTSA theses and dissertations (ETDs), primarily from 2005 to present. The collection is not comprehensive; search the UTSA Library Catalog for a complete list of UTSA theses and dissertations.

Authors of these ETDs have retained their copyright while granting UTSA Libraries the non-exclusive right to reproduce and distribute their works.

Former students are invited to broaden access to their thesis or dissertation by making it available in the Open Access collection. To initiate this process, or if you have any questions about the ETD collection, please contact rrpress@utsa.edu.

There are two collections of Master’s and Doctoral ETDs:

Am I required to submit my thesis or dissertation to the Runner Research Press? 

• Yes.
• As of December 2023, the UTSA Graduate School requires all students to submit an electronic copy of their thesis or dissertation to the library, where it will be archived in the Runner Research Press.

How do I submit my thesis or dissertation to the library?

• When you are about to graduate, you will submit your final thesis or dissertation to the Graduate School
• You will be asked to fill out an online form from ProQuest, which includes permissions to uploaded to both the ProQuest Theses and Dissertations database and UTSA Libraries.

Can I place an embargo on my thesis or dissertation? 

• Yes, you can place an option embargo on your thesis or dissertation.
• The library offers the same embargo options as ProQuest. 
• You will select your embargo period when you submit to ProQuest and the library

What is an embargo and should I select one when submitting to ProQuest and the library?

• An embargo means that your work cannot be downloaded from the repository until a specified date. 
• The system will automatically make your submission available after your specified embargo period.
• Consult with your PI, faculty advisor, or mentor to determine if an embargo is right for your work.

How long is an embargo?

• That is up to you! Embargo options are:
  • 6 months
  • 1 year
  • 2 years
  • 3 years
  • 5 years
• If you need a longer embargo than 5 years, you will need to get permission from the UTSA Graduate School.

Is an embargo required?

• No, embargos are optional.
• Consult with your faculty advisor or mentor to determine if an embargo is right for your work.

Who will be able to read my thesis or dissertation?

• Once you graduate, your thesis or dissertation will be uploaded to the Runner Research Press, an online archive.
• Unless you select an embargo option, your thesis or dissertation will immediately be available for anyone around the globe to locate through Google, Google Scholar, or other search engines.
• If you do select an embargo option, the title and abstract of your thesis or dissertation will available in the Runner Research Press, but the file containing your work will not be available to read or download until the embargo expires.

I am an alum and received an email from UTSA Libraries about making my thesis available to the public. What is that about?

• The library did not begin archiving thesis or dissertations in the Runner Research Press until the fall semester of 2023.
• If you graduated before that date, your thesis or dissertation is only available to be read by current UTSA students, faculty or staff due to copyright restrictions.
• UTSA Libraries is working on a project to open up access to these works but we need permission from the author to do so
• If you are an alum and would like to find out more information about this project, contact rrpress@utsa.edu