Access SPSS software from off campus through VDI (Virtual Desktop Infrastructure.) See the link below.
University Technology Solutions (UTS) is responsible for SPSS. For more in-depth information about accessing SPSS from off campus, or to use SPSS on campus, please contact UTS directly: (210) 458-5555 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Provides access to more than 36,000 eBooks, including over 2,100 computer science and information technology books published by Cisco, Macromedia, Microsoft, O'Reilly, Pearson, SAMS, and others. Additionaly Safari features videos, expert-curated learning paths, O’Reilly conference videos, and other resources in technology, business, science, and other fields.
Contains content on research methods from books, journals and reference sources; research methods videos, tutorials, and more; case studies showing how research methods are applied; and practice datasets from actual research. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series.
Exploratory Data Analysis Using R provides a classroom-tested introduction to exploratory data analysis (EDA) and introduces the range of "interesting" - good, bad, and ugly - features that can be found in data, and why it is important to find them. It also introduces the mechanics of using R to explore and explain data.
This book is ideal for those who are already exposed to R, but have not yet used it extensively for data analytics and are seeking to get up and running quickly for analytics tasks. This book will help people who aspire to enhance their skills in any of the following ways:- perform advanced analyses and create informative and professional charts- become proficient in acquiring data from many sources- apply supervised and unsupervised data mining techniques- use R's features to present analyses professionally
Statistical Computing with R by Maria L. Rizzo
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
Computational statistics and statistical computing are two areas that employ computational, graphical, and numerical approaches to solve statistical problems, making the versatile R language an ideal computing environment for these fields.
Statistics in Psychology covers all statistical methods needed in education and research in psychology. This book looks at research questions when planning data sampling, that is to design the intended study and to calculate the sample sizes in advance. In other words, no analysis applies if the minimum size is not determined in order to fulfil certain precision requirements. The book looks at the process of empirical research into the following seven stages: Formulation of the problem Stipulation of the precision requirements Selecting the statistical model for the planning and analysis The (optimal) design of the experiment or survey Performing the experiment or the survey Statistical analysis of the observed results Interpretation of the results.
This book has been prepared to help psychiatrists expand their knowledge of statistical methods and fills the gaps in their applications as well as introduces data analysis software. The book emphasizes the classification of fundamental statistical methods in psychiatry research that are precise and simple. Professionals in the field of mental health and allied subjects without any mathematical background can easily understand all the relevant statistical methods and carry out the analysis and interpret the results in their respective fields without consulting a statistician. The sequence of the chapters, the sections within the chapters, the subsections within the sections, and the points within the subsections have all been arranged to help professionals in classification refine their knowledge in statistical methods and fill the gaps, if any. Emphasizing simplicity, the fundamental statistical methods are demonstrated by means of arithmetical examples that may be reworked with pencil and paper in a matter of minutes. The results of the rework have to be checked by using SPSS, and in this way professionals are introduced to this psychiatrist-friendly data analysis software. Topics covered include: ¿ An overview of psychiatry research ¿ The organization and collection of data ¿ Descriptive statistics ¿ The basis of statistical inference ¿ Tests of significance ¿ Correlational data analysis ¿ Multivariate data analysis ¿ Meta-analysis ¿ Reporting the results ¿ Statistical software The language of the book is very simple and covers all aspects of statistical methods starting from organization and collection of data to descriptive statistics, statistical inference, multivariate analysis, and meta-analysis. Two chapters on computer applications deal with the most popular data analysis software: SPSS. The book will be very valuable to professionals and post-graduate students in psychiatry and allied fields, such as psychiatric social work, clinical psychology, psychiatric nursing, and mental health education and administration.