OER Design: Support for UTSA Faculty

OER Networks

Community College Consortium for OER
CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources. We provide a community and resources to learn about the evolving practice of open education.
Open Education Global
Open Education Global is a member-based, global, non-profit supporting the development and use of open education around the world to:expand access to education enabling every person on earth to access and contribute; improve the quality of education; make education more affordable; improve student success; foster collaboration and sharing through co-creation of education materials and the freedom to use, customize, improve and redistribute them; generate pedagogical innovation using the collaborative, interactive culture of the Internet; foster international partnerships and a global participatory culture of learning, creating, sharing and cooperation.
Open Education Network
The Open Education Network (OEN) is an alliance of higher education institutions committed to improving access, affordability, and academic success through the use of open textbooks. OEN focuses on training libraries and faculty to build capacity for Open Textbook programs. The primary benefits of membership in the OTN Network are: free Regional OTN Workshops,OTN Summer Institute (OTNSI) attendance, and establishing a community of practice with TDL’s OER Ambassadors.
OpenStax
The OpenStax Institutional Partner Program is designed to provide institutions with free coaching, training, and support with the goal of increasing use of OpenStax and other open educational resources. We want to build a strong community of institutions who are working together to develop a deeper understanding of what can be done with OpenStax and the larger ecosystem of OER materials. UTSA is an OpenStax Institutional Partner, and faculty have access to OpenStax Tutor Beta during COVID.
Rebus Community
A global community working together to create and share Open Educational Resources (OER). Here you’ll find people, processes, and tools to support your publishing efforts. You can use Rebus Community to: start an open textbook project, give and receive guidance on publishing open textbooks, post and respond to calls for contributors, and connect with global communities that are changing the world through Open Education. Pressbooks projects typically have a community that they create around the new OER.
SPARC
SPARC is a global coalition committed to making Open the default for research and education. SPARC empowers people to solve big problems and make new discoveries through the adoption of policies and practices that advance Open Access, Open Data, and Open Education.
Student PIRG's: Make Textbooks Affordable
For more than a decade, the Student PIRGS have led the way in exposing publisher’s practices that rip off students, championing cost-saving textbook options like used books and rental programs, and advocating for open textbooks as a long-term solution.
Texas OER Community for Higher Education
A forum and email list to continue conversations about Open Educational Resources in Texas that were started at the Statewide OER Summit on November 15-16 at UT San Antonio. A place to share new OER, learn about regional trainings and opportunities, share legislative updates, and to showcase OER work at your institution.

Scholarly Communication Memberships

CrossRef
Crossref makes research outputs easy to find, cite, link, assess, and reuse. They're a not-for-profit membership organization that exists to make scholarly communications better. UTSA Libraries uses CrossRef for assigning DOIs and ISSNs.
RR Bowker
Provider of bibliographic information, connecting publishers, authors, and booksellers with readers. With an expanded focus on Identifier Services (myidentifiers.com), Bowker provides tools to help authors promote and sell their books — and resources, such as the Books In Print® database — to help make their titles more discoverable. Bowker, a ProQuest affiliate, is the official ISBN Agency for the United States and Australia.

Hathitrust Institutional Membership
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.

During COVID, UTSA Libraries' HathiTrust membership provided emergency digital access to in-copyright titles in any UT System school collection that we only hold in print. This expanded our collection during a time when the library was closed and actually increased access to materials.

UTSA participates in HathiTrust’s copyright review programs, and the Scholarly Communication Library Emily Johnson receives training on different nations’ copyright law through this program.

Texas Digital Library
The Texas Digital Library is a consortium of Texas higher education institutions that builds capacity for preserving, managing, and providing access to unique digital collections of enduring value. Supports research, teaching, and digital curation efforts at member institutions, including UTSA; facilitate collaboration amongst community and with external partners; connect local work to a global ecosystem of digital library efforts. Through UTSA Libraries' TDL membership, the Libraries host the Runner Research Press a showcase of UTSA scholarly and creative works. This is a great platform for hosting materials created by students.

ORCID Institutional Membership
ORCID is a global, community-led organization that provides digital identifiers (ORCID iDs) for researchers to benefit from being uniquely identified and reliably connected with their professional information (affiliations, awards, publications, and more).