- Find Information
- Research Guides
- MKT 7033: Topics in Strategy Research Seminar (Chandrasekaran)
MKT 7033: Topics in Strategy Research Seminar (Chandrasekaran)
Head of Research Engagement and Scholarly Communication
San Antonio, TX 78249-0671
Things to Know
Scraping and Text Mining in Library Databases
If you are planning a text mining project that will require downloading a lot of data or articles, please reach out to Natasha.Arguello@utsa.edu before you start so that we can notify the database vendors.
Our database licenses do not allow scraping, running scripts, text mining, or what is called "systematic" downloads. Vendors typically have built-in limits on the amount of data or content downloads. Once these limits are exceeded, your access will be blocked.
Many vendors offer additional tools for text mining and analysis that may be licensed for an additional fee.
Requesting Datasets for Research Projects
If you need a dataset for a research project or dissertation, please keep in mind that it may take from several months to a year to complete licensing. If we have an existing contract with a vendor, this timeline is shorter. The library does not pay for research datasets used by individual researchers, but we are happy to assist with licensing and providing access. For dataset funding, reach out to your advisor and department chair who in turn will work with Dr. Sanchez at the Alvarez College of Business.
We do not subscribe to Capital IQ PRO.
WRDS is a platform for analyzing data. To access data, we also subscribe to a number of datasets / data sources, e.g. Compustat. If you encounter a data source that is grayed out, it means we currently don't subscribe to it.
WRDS requires a two-factor authentication.
WRDS recently added the Coding Tool Kit:
- Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowData on U.S. and international public and private companies, M&A deals, executives and boards worldwide; news, investment research, and more. Includes powerful screening tools, chart builders, and Office Plug-In modeling tool. By S&P Global.
Access to Capital IQ is for current faculty, staff, and students only and requires approval by Capital IQ. To request a new Capital IQ account:
1. Click on the Capital IQ database link above; login with abc123 and passphrase; complete DUO authentication.
2. Click on New User in the top right header and enter your utsa.edu email.
3. Check your email box for confirmation and finish the sign-up. Your login credentials will be provided via email from Capital IQ.
Once your Capital IQ account is created, for future access you will need to use the proxied link to Capital IQ above on the library database page, and then your personal Capital IQ credentials to log in.
To download Office Plug-in, go to My Capital IQ tab > My Profile > Downloads. See research guide for more information. You may also complete Capital IQ training at S&P Market Intelligence Academic Resource Center.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to data files in social science areas such as economics, social and political behavior and attitudes, education, population, and health. Raw data is derived from censuses, surveys, and administrative records in data collections and over individual data files. Includes documentation for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.
- SEEKiNF This link opens in a new windowSEEKiNF (Search Engine for Extracting Knowledge for Industrial Filings) is a search engine for SEC filings and PCAOB reports that includes tools to perform textual analyses. Updated Daily. Covers 1994-current.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area. Additional modules include:
1. SimmonsLOCAL, a targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets drilled down the block group level.
2. Claritas PRIZM, a consumer segmentation system which combines demographic, consumer behavior, and geographic data into 66 consumer segments to help marketers identify, understand, and target their customers and prospects.
3.Claritas ConneXions, a consumer segmentation system which classify U.S households into 53 consumer segments based on the technology and communications purchasing and usage preferences.
4. Claritas P$YCLE, a consumer segmentation system which classifies U.S. households into one of 58 consumer segments based on the income-producing assets.
Only a few people can use this database at one time.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowContains a wealth of business and financial information, both current and historical across three databases. Global offers full text of both scholarly and trade journals, market and industry reports, as well as dissertations and working papers. Trade & Industry is focused on specific companies, executives, products and trends. Dateline contains city, state, and regional company and market news. Coverage: 1984-present. Updated daily.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage for over 9,400 general and scholarly business journals and other sources in marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Includes full-text business books; case studies; investment research, industry, market research, and country reports; and SWOT analyses. Includes the Harvard Business Review. Some coverage begins in 1886.
Other Resources of Interest
- Wall Street Journal (Current) | WSJ.com This link opens in a new windowRegister for free access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes all WSJ articles, videos, interactive features, digital print daily edition, and more.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowContains content on research methods from books, journals and reference sources; research methods videos; tutorials; case studies showing how research methods are applied; and practice datasets from actual research. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes entire "Little Green Book" (quantitative research) and "Little Blue Book" (qualitative research) series.