Finding Measures in the Behavioral Sciences and Education

This guide shows how to find measures in the behavioral sciences and education at the UTSA Libraries.

Using This Guide

Finding measures in the behavioral sciences can be tricky! There is no single source that compiles all measures in their entirety. Why? Some measures are commercially available (APA labels these "published") while some are freely available in scholarly articles (APA labels this "unpublished"). To avoid ordering a measure from the publisher, first try searching PsycTests below. Then use the navigation tabs to the left to search UTSA Libraries' collection.

Exhausted our sources and still no measure? Chat with us.

PsycTESTS (EBSCO)
A collection of testing literature culled from researchers, peer-reviewed journals, books and handbooks, dissertations, websites, the Archives of the History of American Psychology Test Collection, and commercial test publishers. Includes information on test development, review, usage, and actual testing instruments. Tests are on a wide range of subjects, including developmental, personality, intelligence, military, and more. Coverage 1910-present. Updated monthly.

Using PsycTests

If you need a measure, start searching PsycTests by title or topic. PsycTests gives basic information about a measure, including a sample of questions, format, the source (a journal article), and permissions for using the measure.

Search the title of the source article referenced in PsycTests in Library Quick Search to locate the article. The article sometimes includes the full measure and will have background on the measure's development: