We're here for you! See hours, policies, contactless delivery, & e-resources

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resources

A guide to LGBT+ resources online and at UTSA Libraries.

LGBT Archival Collections at UTSA

Marilyn Monroe drag impersonator performing; photo from MS 117 Lollie Johnson PapersDiary page documenting Elder's time on the steps of the Supreme Court and being arrested in Washington DC from MS 428 Gene Elder PapersPhoto of Sterling Houston singing with the Fleshtones MS 218 Sterling Houston PapersPhoto album page with wigs from MS 425 Pierre Duval Hair Studio Collection

Images, left to right: Marilyn Monroe drag impersonator performing; photo from MS 117 Lollie Johnson Papers, Diary page documenting Elder's time on the steps of the Supreme Court and being arrested in Washington DC from MS 428 Gene Elder Papers, Photo of Sterling Houston singing with the Fleshtones MS 218 Sterling Houston Papers, Photo album page with wigs from MS 425 Pierre Duval Hair Studio Collection. UTSA Libraries Special Collections.

UTSA Special Collections Department serves as the Library's repository for primary source materials. Materials and services are available to UTSA faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as to the local, national and international community.

If you are new to archival resources and primary source research, please review UTSA's other guides on Archival Resources at UTSA and Primary Source Research:

LGBT Archival Collections Available at UTSA Special Collections

Each archival collection listed is linked to a descriptive inventory of the materials in the collection (known as collection guides or finding aids). If items from the collections have been digitized and made available online, links to these items will be present in the inventory. The same items are searchable our online digital collections. Due to staff and time constraints, we are unable to completely digitize our collections. However, all collections are available for in-person research. Please visit our website to make an appointment to do in-person research using one of our collections.

Blog Posts

UTSA Special Collections maintains the Top Shelf blog, where LGBTQ collections and topics are periodically featured.  Please visit the links below to read some of our LGBTQ-specific blog posts.