- Find Information
- Research Guides
- A Topic Index to Modern Foreign Language Guides
A Topic Index to Modern Foreign Language Guides
Links to library guides by language listing resources for foreign language study, including online learning programs, dictionaries, linguistics and grammar, historical background, newspapers and books.
Modern Languages Librarian
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
Study at UTSA
- UTSA - Study AbroadLearn about UTSA-sponsored study abroad programs.
What Language Do You Want to Learn?
Explore the world's languages, literatures, and cultures through resources on UTSA Libraries Research Guides.
Arabic Language, Literature & Culture
Chinese Language, Literature & Culture
French Language, Literature & Culture
German Language, Literature & Culture
Italian Language, Literature, & Culture
Japanese Language, Literature, & Culture
Korean Language, Literature, & Culture
Portuguese Language, Literature, & Culture
Russian Language, Literature, & Culture
Spanish Language, Literature, History, Culture, & Film
Resources for All Languages
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new windowInteractive language learning software. Includes vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, language and culture blogs, online social communities, and video-based grammar lessons. Basic to intermediate level. More than 100 languages offered, including ESL.
Users MUST first create an account in the web version in order to use this online tool and track learning progress. Access is available on or off campus AFTER creating an account. For mobile apps, use the web version of Transparent Language and click on “Mobile Access” in the menu for the most recent version. To activate the app, scan the QR code found on the "Mobile Access" page or use your username and password.
- Learn a Language Through BiblioTech Digital LibraryBexar County's BiblioTech Digital Library offers access to many online resources from your smart device, including Mango Languages, which provides instruction for more than 70 languages. You must be a Bexar County resident to register. If you are a UTSA student, faculty, or staff member you qualify.
- DuolingoFree language learning website. Available mobile app for your smart device.
- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowCross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.
- Academic Video Online: Premium
- Anthropology Online
- Border and Migration Studies Online
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Early Encounters in North America
- Engineering Case Studies
- Film Scripts Online
- Filmakers Library Online
- Music and Performing Arts Online
- PBS Video Online
- African American Music Reference
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Theatre in Context Collection
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
- Peterson's Test Prep (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Testing and Education Reference Center (TERC).
Provides access to comprehensive information related to colleges and universities, financial aid, and test preparation. Features interactive online practice tests for preparatory examinations in PDF format, including the ACT, CLEP, GED, LSAT, GMAT, GRE, SAT and others.
- CIA World Factbook Country ProfilesThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Search Library Quick Search
Library Quick Search
Places to Visit / Things to See and Do
For recommendations on the best things to see and do when traveling, as well as tips on local customs and culture, try a travel guidebook. For example, search Frommer's travel in Library Quick Search, or Frommer's (country name)
- Rick Steves Classroom EuropeShort video clips cover a wide range of topics of interest for travelers to Europe.
- Weather Spark - The Typical Weather Anywhere on EarthGet monthly, daily, and hourly graphical reports of the typical weather anywhere. Enter a location in the search bar or use the interactive map.