- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Portuguese Language, Literature & Culture
Portuguese Language, Literature & Culture
Guide to print and online sources for Portuguese. UTSA does not offer courses in Portuguese.
Librarian for Spanish & Portuguese
Learn Portuguese
While UTSA does not offer classes or a degree in Portuguese, UTSA Libraries does provide learning materials for those interested.
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new windowInteractive language learning software includes both European and Brazilian Portuguese. Contains vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, language and culture blogs, online social communities, video-based grammar lessons. More than 90 languages offered, including ESL.
Users must create a free account so the tool can track your learning progress. For mobile access, download the Transparent Language app and use login and password from the website under “Go Mobile.”
- Learn a Language Through BiblioTech Digital LibraryBexar County's BiblioTech Digital Library offers access to many online resources from your smart device, including Mango Languages, which provides instruction for more than 70 languages. You must be a Bexar County resident to register. If you are a UTSA student, faculty, or staff member you qualify.
- BiblioTech Digital Library: Magazines in PortugueseBiblioTech offers free online copies of a few current Portuguese-language magazines, including Adego, Areo, Loud!, Mente Cerebro, Sabor, and Harvard Business Review. You must be a Bexar County resident to register. If you are a UTSA student, or faculty or staff member you qualify. Register for an account.
- Google TranslateWith more than 100 supported languages you can translate words, sentences, text and documents into or from your preferred language. Supports uploading and translation of documents including searchable PDFs.
Note: This is machine translation so 100% accuracy in translation and grammar not guaranteed.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCross searchable and browsable full text subject, language and quotation dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions. Content covers a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.
Portuguese for kids
- The Piri-Piri Lexicon: Our favourite Portuguese resources for little learnersThe Instituto Camões has a selection of children's books available to read online for free.