Emigration, Immigration & Migration

Selectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.

Selectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature of world history from 1450 to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For U.S. and Canadian history see America: History and Life.

A database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.

Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.

Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.

Primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events across Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe, from the 19th to the 21st centuries. Topics include border identities, border control, border disputes, human trafficking, undocumented migration, and more.

A rich collection of research materials for genealogists and historians to trace family histories and American culture. Includes full-image population schedules from the U.S. Census (1790-1950), U.S. City Directories (1821-1989), U.S. Freedman's Bank Records (1861-1875), U.S. Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), Canadian Census (1825-1921) and more.

Turn of the century files cover immigration of various groups to the United States, including Japanese and Chinese immigration, European immigration, and Mexican immigration between 1906-1930. There are also extensive files on the regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.

Chronicles personal accounts of immigration to America and Canada from 1800-1950. Currently includes approximately 37,500 pages of material by 2,162 authors. When completed, the collection will contain over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, many previously unpublished.

Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

PAIS, Public Affairs Information Service, indexes issues in the public debate through selective coverage of publications from more than 120 countries. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical information, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on a variety of subjects.

Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, many in full text. Also includes full-text books, monographs, and conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in the early 1880s, but most coverage begins in the late 1990s.

Extensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current. 

Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily

Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.

Provides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.

Digitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.

Cross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.

Collections include:

• Academic Video Online: Premium
• Anthropology Online
• Border and Migration Studies Online
• Counseling and Therapy in Video
• Early Encounters in North America
• Engineering Case Studies
• Film Scripts Online
• Filmakers Library Online
• Music and Performing Arts Online
• PBS Video Online
• African American Music Reference
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries
• Theatre in Context Collection
• Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.