Historical statistics for the U.S. from colonial times through the 20th century, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, as well as governance and international relations. Recently updated.
Summarizes U.S. social, political and economic data in convenient tables from a wide variety of Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. Tables available in either PDF or Excel. Check original sources of data for more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each PDF section. Updated monthly. For earlier editions (1970-current) use drop down menu in database. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip sheet.
Free government website from the Department of Homeland Security. Immigration statistics, report on removal of illegal immigrants, report on refugees and asylees, and non-immigrant admissions to the the U. S.
Free website of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, nonpartisan think tank in Washington, DC that provides analysis and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. Their page on U.S. immigration includes tables and graphs of a number of relevant characteristics.
The figures in this interactive map refer to the total number (or cumulative "stocks") of migrants living around the world as of 1990, 2000, 2010, or 2013. Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, and media analysis.
An interactive data visualization project that "examines one of the direct fundamental causes of the global refugee crisis, the collapse of order and stability in today's international landscape." Explores the locations and fatality counts of armed conflicts worldwide for the years 2010-2018, with the ability to filter by region and quarter in relation to total asylum applications. Integrates data from the UN and other sources.
A leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration that works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental, partners, such as the United Nations. Their world migration interactive map allows the user to access information about migrants leaving or entering a country. Access to UN documents and international migration laws.
Free website of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, nonpartisan think tank in Washington, DC that provides analysis and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. Explore their pages on international migration, which include tables, graphs, and maps of a number of relevant characteristics.
Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, including hearings, prints, reports, Serial Set maps, bills and laws, Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service Reports, and information on Congressional members and committees. Updated daily.
Full text access to documents related to national security, emergency preparedness, terrorism, border security and related topics from federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the Dudley Knox Library of the Naval Postgraduate School.
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal and state agencies, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities. Includes indexing/abstracting and tabular data from 1973 to present. Significant full-text content from 1995 to the present. Additional full-text content is available on microfiche; inquire at the Information Desk for assistance.
In order for you to come to the United States lawfully as a non-immigrant to work temporarily in the United States your prospective employer must generally file a non-immigrant petition on your behalf.