- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Emigration, Immigration & Migration
Emigration, Immigration & Migration
A guide to library and online sources with a special focus on U.S. immigration
Chronological List of Major United States Laws Relating to Immigration and Naturalization, 1790 - 2005
This chronological list of immigration laws provides links to the full text of selected laws in the U.S. Statutes at Large. Statutes at Large is the official compilation of the the laws passed in each session of Congress arranged in chronological order. The legal citation of a Statute at Large (Stat.) includes the volume and page number in Statutes at Large. (e.g., 110 Stat. 3009)
- Naturalization Act of 1790 (An Act to establish an uniform Rule of Naturalization)1 Stat. 103 - March 26, 1790
Established the rules for naturalized citizenship, as per Article 1, Section 8 of the Constitution, but placed no restrictions on immigration. Citizenship was limited to white persons, with no other restriction on non-whites. - Naturalization Act of 1795 (An Act to establish an uniform rule of Naturalization)1 Stat. 414 - January 29, 1795
Free white aliens of good moral character; five-year residency with one year in state; declaration of intention filed after two years; petition filed three years after declaration. - Naturalization Act of 17981 Stat. 566 - June 18, 1798
14-year residency; declaration of intention filed 5 years before granting of citizenship. - Alien Friends Act (An Act concerning Aliens)1 Stat. 570 - June 25, 1798
Ordered the removal of aliens considered to be dangerous to the peace and safety of the U.S.; passenger lists to be given to collector of customs. - Naturalization Act of 187016 Stat. 254 - July 14, 1870
An Act to amend the Naturalization Laws and to punish Crimes against the same, and for other Purposes. - Page Act of 187518 Stat. 477 - March 3, 1875
An act supplementary to the acts in relation to immigration. - Chinese Exclusion Act22 Stat. 58 - May 6, 1882
An act to execute certain treaty stipulations relating to Chinese. - An act in amendment to the various acts relative to immigration and the importation of aliens under contract or agreement to perform labor26 Stat. 1084, Chap. 551 - March 3, 1891.
Established office of superintendent of immigration; Classes of persons denied right to immigrate to U.S. - Geary Act of 1892 (Chinese Exclusion)27 Stat. 25 - May 5, 1892
An act to prohibit the coming of Chinese persons into the United States. - Immigration Act of 1903 (Anarchist Exclusion Act)32 Stat. 1213 - March 3, 1903
Added to the list of inadmissible classes. - Naturalization Act of 190634 Stat. 596 - June 29, 1906
An Act to establish a Bureau of Immigration and Naturalization, and to provide for a uniform rule for the naturalization of aliens throughout the United States. English language requirement added. - An Act in reference to the expatriation of citizens and their protection abroad34 Stat. 1228 - March 2, 1907
American-born women who married foreign-born men took the citizenship status of their husbands. - An Act to regulate the immigration of aliens into the United States34 Stat. 898 - February 20, 1907
Restricted the increasing number of immigrants coming into the U.S. before and after World War I, notably those with disability or disease. - Immigration Act of 191840 Stat. 1012 - October 16, 1918
An Act to exclude and expel from the United States aliens who are members of the anarchistic and similar classes. Expanded on the provisions of the Anarchist Exclusion Act. - Emergency Quota Act of 192142 Stat. 5 - May 19, 1921
An Act to limit the immigration of aliens into the United States. - Immigration Act of 1924 (Johnson-Reed Act)43 Stat. 153, Chap. 190 - May 26, 1924
An Act To limit the immigration of aliens into the United States, and for other purposes. - Nationality Act of 194054 Stat. 1137 - October 14, 1940
An Act To revise and codify the nationality laws of the United States into a comprehensive nationality code. - Chinese Exclusion Repeal Act of 1943 (Magnuson Act)57 Stat. 600 - December 17, 1943
An Act To repeal the Chinese Exclusion Acts, to establish quotas, and for other purposes. - Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 (McCarran-Walter Act)66 Stat. 163 - June 27, 1952
Increased the power of the government to deport illegal immigrants suspected of Communist sympathies. - Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965 (Hart-Celler Act)79 Stat. 911 - October 03, 1965
Abolished the National Origins Formula that had been in place in the United States since the Emergency Quota Act. - Cuban Adjustment Act (CAA)80 Stat. 1161 - November 2, 1966
An Act To adjust the status of Cuban refugees to that of lawful permanent residents of the United States, and for other purposes. - Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (IRCA)100 Stat. 3359 - November 6, 1986
An Act To amend the Immigration and Nationality Act to revise and reform the immigration laws, and for other purposes. - Immigration Act of 1990104 Stat. 4978 - November 29, 1990
An Act To amend the Immigration and Nationality Act to change the level, and preference system for admission, of immigrants to the United States, and to provide for administrative naturalization, and for other purposes. - Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 (IIRaIRA)110 Stat. 3009 - September 30, 1996
Part of an omnibus bill. - REAL ID Act (2005)119 Stat. 302 (Real ID Act) was passed as rider on 119 Stat. 231 Emergency Supplemental Appropriations Act for Defense, the Global War on Terror, and Tsunami Relief.
- ACLU Letter about REAL ID ActThis letter provides an explanation regarding passage of the REAL ID Act.
Debates in Congress
Congressional debate and discussion can be very informative. The Congressional Record (and predecessors) are the official record of Congress. Search ProQuest Congressional choosing Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors. Limit by date range and search full text for such terms as "naturalization," "immigration," or other terms relevant to the legislation you are researching.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.
govinfo.gov
- United States Statutes at Large (govinfo)Govinfo: Official government website (1951-2014)
Print: JPL 3rd Floor KF50 .U52 (1972-no longer received in print)
Microfilm: JPL 4th Floor KF50 .U52 (1789-1971)
Permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Prepared and published by Office of the Federal Register and National Archives and Records Administration.
Under the provisions of 1 U.S.C. 112, the printed edition of the Statutes at Large is legal evidence of the laws, concurrent resolutions, proclamations by the President, and proposed and ratified amendments to the Constitution. - govinfo Statutes at Large Citation SearchSearch for Statutes at Large by citation (e.g., 119 Stat. 302).