ES 2013: Introduction to Environmental Systems I (Young)

Government Databases

A lot of information about the environment and things that have effects on the environment can be found in government databases. These databases are free for use and provided by the federal government.

USA.gov - Data and Statistics about the United States
Data about the US including maps, population, demographic, and economic data.
Data.gov
Provides access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Review the catalog for content or request additional datasets.

AGRICOLA (USDA National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
(AGRICultural OnLine Access) Consists of two freely accessible, web-based resources published by the U.S. Gov't.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. See also MEDLINE.

Government Websites

These are the websites for several government organizations that collect data and produce reports on environmental topics.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA or sometimes USEPA) is an agency of the federal government of the United States charged with protecting human health and the environment, by writing and enforcing regulations based on laws passed by Congress.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the leading national public health institute of the United States.