- Find Information
- Research Guides
- OER for Core Curriculum
OER for Core Curriculum
Open educational resources for UTSA's core curriculum
AST 1013
Introduction to Astronomy
Astronomy by ISBN: 1938168283Publication Date: 2020-01-14Astronomy is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of one- or two-semester introductory astronomy courses. The book begins with relevant scientific fundamentals and progresses through an exploration of the solar system, stars, galaxies and cosmology. The Astronomy textbook builds student understanding through the use of relevant analogies, clear and non-technical explanations, and rich illustrations. Mathematics is included in a flexible manner to meet the needs of individual instructors.
Astronomy for Educators by Publication Date: 2018Astronomy for Educators provides new and accomplished K-12 instructors with concepts and projects for low-cost, high-impact STEM classroom instruction that is built around the National Academies National Research Council's K-12 Framework for Science Education.
Geometry with an Introduction to Cosmic Topology by ISBN: 9781717134813Publication Date: 2018-06-08Motivated by questions in cosmology, the 2018 edition of Geometry with an Introduction to Cosmic Topology follows the Erlangen program to develop hyperbolic, elliptic, and Euclidean geometry - three possibilities for the global geometry of the universe. The text uses Mobius transformations in the extended complex plane to define and investigate these three candidate geometries, thereby providing a natural setting in which to express results common to them all, as well as results that encapsulate key differences. With these geometries in hand, the text then explores the interplay between the shape of a space and the type of geometry it admits. It is written to be suitable for a one semester course in geometry or as a guide to independent study, with over 200 exercises and several essays on topics such as the history of geometry, parallax and curvature, and research aimed at determining the shape of the universe.
- Teach AstronomyThis site provides a textbook, images, videos, and podcasts.
- Lab Manual ExchangeShare lab manuals with other physics and astronomy teachers. (Sign up required.)
- Astronomy Instructor Resources OpenStaxIncludes a getting started guide, instructor and student resources. Must register for a faculty login to access.
- MIT Open Courseware Planetary ScienceFully online courses with video lectures, exercises, quizzes and online readings that can be freely reused by instructors in planetary science, solar system dynamics, and observational astronomy.
Mars GlobeTake a tour of the mysterious Red Planet. This virtual globe combines a high-resolution satellite map with laser altimeter data and advanced topographic lighting to present the planet Mars as it appears from above. An Introduction and Guided Tour present some of Mars' most intriguing features.
Free Apple
Moon GlobeHold the Moon in your hands. Moon Globe turns your iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad into a precision instrument for viewing Earth's Moon. Satellite imagery and topographic laser altimeter data are combined to render the Moon with realistic lighting in realtime 3D.
Free Apple
PlanetsThis app gives you in-depth information on all the planets. Locate planets in 2D or 3D mode and select different visibilities of the sky, such as X-ray, Infrared, Microwave and Radio. There is also a Globe function that lets you view a rotating 3D image of all the planets and the moon.
Free Apple
GEO 1013
The Third Planet
Introduction to Oceanography by Publication Date: 2019Introduction to Oceanography is a textbook appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. The book covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region.
Physical Geology by Publication Date: 2015A comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere.
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation by Publication Date: 2015With “Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation”, first and second-year college students are introduced to this expanding new field, comprehensively exploring the essential concepts from every branch of knowledge – including engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities. As sustainability is a multi-disciplinary area of study, the text is the product of multiple authors drawn from the diverse faculty of the University of Illinois: each chapter is written by a recognized expert in the field.
- Earth Science Texts from NAPEcosystems, Conservation, Ocean Studies, GIS, Hydrology - you can download free digital textbooks on all this and more from the Earth Science section of National Academies Press. Price listed is for delivery of paperback copies.
- Introduction to Physical Geology: Open Course LibraryGeology is a core science, along with physics, chemistry, and biology. It uses rigorous methods of inquiry that illuminate the history of the earth and its present-day geological activity. Geology allows us to discover how earth’s history and activity determine the state of the planet and its life forms. The study of geology also shows us how human behavior affects the earth. Topics we will cover include plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, rocks, minerals, geologic time, glaciers, rivers, geologic structures, layers of the earth, and reading maps. This course includes laboratory work and lab credit. This module is part of the Open Course Library, a collection of shareable course materials created for faculty to use in their classes. As part of the Open Course Library this content is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution License which means that you are free to reuse the course in its entirety, edit it and use a your own modified version, or pick out only pieces which can be incorporated into your own course, as long as you credit the original author for their work.
- NASA'S Visible Earth"A searchable directory of images, visualizations and animations of the earth" - Contains useful imagery for instruction in Environmental Science, Oceanography, Remote Sensing, Geology, etc.
PHY 1943, 1952, 1963, & 1971
Physics for Scientists and Engineers I & II and Laboratories
College Physics by ISBN: 1938168003Publication Date: 2020-02-17This introductory, algebra-based, two-semester college physics book is grounded with real-world examples, illustrations, and explanations to help students grasp key, fundamental physics concepts. College Physics can be downloaded now by clicking on the "Get this book" button below. This online, fully editable and customizable title includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities to solve traditional physics application problems.
College Algebra by ISBN: 1938168380Publication Date: 2020-02-12College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
University Physics I: Classical Mechanics by Publication Date: 2019This is a “minimalist” textbook for a first semester of university, calculus-based physics, covering classical mechanics (including one chapter on mechanical waves, but excluding fluids), plus a brief introduction to thermodynamics. The presentation owes much to Mazur’s The Principles and Practice of Physics: conservation laws, momentum and energy, are introduced before forces, and one-dimensional setups are thoroughly explored before two-dimensional systems are considered. It contains both problems and worked-out examples.
University Physics Volume 1 by ISBN: 9781938168277Publication Date: 2020-02-12University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves.
University Physics Volume 2 by ISBN: 193816816XPublication Date: 2020-01-27University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism.
University Physics Volume 3 by ISBN: 1938168186Publication Date: 2020-01-2020niversity Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics
- Calculus-Based PhysicsCalculus-Based Physics is a two-volume introductory physics textbook complete with ancillary materials. The book itself is provided in pdf and MS Word. It can be used as is but users are encouraged to edit it to suit their own needs. Ancillary materials include screen-capture video solutions (with audio) to physics problems and quizzes.
- Simple NatureSimple Nature is an introductory calculus-based physics textbook. Covers mechanics, conservation laws, thermodynamics, relativity, electricity and magnetism, and quantum physics. Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike License
- OpenStax Instructor Resources College AlgebraIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
Interactive Science Glossary: Physical ScienceA truly interactive glossary with videos and flash cards covering the spectrum of Physics, from Force & Motion to Light & Optics.
Free Apple- Online Physics (and other science) SimulationsFun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET™ project at the University of Colorado.
- Open Source PhysicsSite dedicated to Physics teaching materials like simulations, models, and digital content and tools for all kinds of physics.
- Physics Khan AcademyAn excellent suite of tutorial videos explaining a variety of Physics concepts. Great if in class use or for students trying to master the concepts.
- MIT Open Courseware PhysicsFully online courses with video lectures, exercises, quizzes and online readings in things like Relativity, Classical Mechanics, Electricity and Magnetism, etc. that can be freely reused by instructors and reviewed by students.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
- UMass PHY 131 VideosA collection of videos for P131 at UMass Amherst.
Pocket PhysicsPocket Physics is an easy-to-use, free app that covers a wide range of physical formulas with descriptions and images. Good reference tool for beginning and advanced Physics students.
Free Android
GES 2613
Physical Geography
Mapping, Society, and Technology by Publication Date: 2017This book is about how to read, use, and create maps. Our exploration of maps will be informed by a contextual understanding of how maps reflect the relationship between society and technology, and how mapping is an essential form of scientific and artistic inquiry. We will also explore how mapping is used to address a variety of societal issues, such as land use planning and political gerrymandering. You will gain insight into the technical underpinnings of mapping as a science approach, complement on-going interest and activities, or provide an applied focus for research or policy.
The Physical Environment: An Introduction to Physical Geography by Publication Date: 2016The Fundamentals of Physical Geography (2nd Edition) online textbook describes an area of knowledge within Geography known as Physical Geography. The overall purpose of this work is to teach the connected world about my favorite topic of conversation Physical Geography. TheFundamentals of Physical Geography online textbook contains over three hundred pages of information and more than four hundred 2-D illustrations, photographs, and animated graphics organized into ten chapters. Important key terms in the text are linked to an interactive Glossary of Terms. Nested within the pages of this online textbook are links to study guide pages and additional reading pages for each chapter. Please note that the pages found in this work are always in a state of being improved. Your comments and corrections, emailed to me, play an important role in this process.
World Regional Geography by Publication Date: 2016Rather than present students with a broad, novice-level introduction to geography, emphasizing places and vocabulary terms, this text approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connections and an in-depth understanding of core themes. This thematic approach, informed by pedagogical research, provides students with an introduction to thinking geographically.
Physical Geography by Publication Date: 2020This textbook was designed especially for College of the Canyons students, as a resource to instill the knowledge and adventure that the discipline of geography holds for so many of us. The following units will cover a wide array of topics such as: Earth’s grid system, rivers, oceans, deserts, basic geology, and cartography.
- Stanford Geospatial CenterThe Stanford Geospatial Center has gathered a series of websites that offer GIS Data to download for free. The data is classified per geographic extent and grouped by theme for each extent.
- World Regional Geography Saylor CourseWorld Regional Geography is concerned with the physical and human characteristics that make the regions of our world distinctive.