- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Community Cookbooks
Community Cookbooks
Introduction to UTSA's Community Cookbooks Collection in Special Collections.
Special Collections Librarian
Steph Noell
they/them
Contact:
UTSA Libraries Special Collections
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210-458-8054
Subjects: Special Collections
Related collections
- Diana Kennedy PapersThe collection documents Diana Kennedy’s research and travels throughout Mexico, the development of her cookbooks, publicity and awards throughout her career, and her personal life spanning 1941-2019.
- Gebhardt Mexican Foods Company RecordsThe Records of Gebhardt Mexican Foods Company date from 1896-1988 and consist of correspondence, financial records, newspaper clippings, printed material, film, sound recordings, photographs, plaques and banners.
- Mexican Cookbooks CollectionGuide to UTSA's Mexican Cookbook Collection, a rare books collection comprised of more than 2,100 titles.
- Mexican Spirits CollectionA manuscript collection containing photographs and printed ephemera related to the production of Mexican spirits.
About the collection
UTSA Special Collections is home to more than 100 community cookbooks from 1946 to present. Community cookbooks collect recipes by members of local groups like religious congregations, trade organizations, hobby groups, and schools. Most of the cookbooks originate in South Texas communities and nearly half the collection comes from San Antonio. Much of this collection was generously donated by UTSA Reference Librarian Jacob Sherman.
San Antonio cookbooks
In good taste : a culinary drama in three acts by Call Number: TX715 .I352 1991Publication Date: 1991Alamo City Theatre, Inc. (ACT) was established on September 28, 1984, at 1150 S. Alamo St. in King William District in the former Alamo Methodist Church.
Wings of change by Call Number: TX715 .W564 2003Publication Date: 2003Brooks Heritage Foundation was founded in 1987 as a non-profit with the purpose of educating the public on aerospace research and development with special focus on the history of Brooks AFB.
A league of recipes from our house to yours : a compilation of "food ideas" from our San Antonio bowling family by Call Number: TX715 .L43Publication Date: 1994/5?San Antonio Women's Bowling Association's Special Projects Committee was comprised of:
Anne Broyles, Margaret Kuhstass, Pat Lee, Yasuka Whitesell, Sherilyn Crain (Chair)
The little kitchens of Fiesta. Vol. II = Las cocinitas de Fiesta by Call Number: TX715 .L58 2007Publication Date: 2007"A collection of favorite recipes from volunteers, board members, and friends of the Fiesta® San Antonio Commission."
MacArthur 5-Star Inn by Call Number: TX715 .M33 1987Publication Date: 1987The MacArthur Food Service Classes taught students job skills for positions like dishwasher, food preparer, and server. Classes held serving days on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
Temple Beth El classics of our kitchen by Call Number: 1967Publication Date: TX715 .T45 1967Temple Beth-El was established in San Antonio in 1874. This is the second cookbook published by the Temple Beth-El Sisterhood.
South Texas cookbooks
Cook book by Call Number: TX715 .C683 1948Publication Date: 1948Compiled by members of St. Ann Altar Society and St. John Catholic Church in Robstown.
Leon Valley sesquicentennial cookbook by Call Number: TX715 .L46 1985Publication Date: 1985Leon Valley incorporated in 1954, but had been a camp site for indigenous groups like the Tonkawa for centuries and was settled by German families as early as the mid-1800s.
Nueces County Legal Secretaries' cookbook by Call Number: TX715 .N84 1981Publication Date: 1981Nueces County Legal Secretaries Association Project Committee was comprised of:
Crystal Vorndam (Chair), Sharon Marion, and Barbara Glover.
Our Lady of Refuge cookbook by Call Number: TX715 .O91 1963Publication Date: 1963Recipes compiled by Our Lady of Refuge Catholic Church's Altar Society and Mothers' Club in Refugio.
