Our buildings are closed for check out, but our e-resources and librarians are here for you. Learn how to return items.

Mexican Cookbooks

This guide introduces UTSA's Mexican Cookbooks Collection, the largest such collection in the US.

About The Collection

UTSA’s Mexican Cookbook Collection includes over 2,000 titles in English and Spanish documenting the variety and history of Mexican cuisine from 1789 to the present, with most books dating from 1940-2000. In addition to broad general coverage, the collection includes concentrations in the areas of regional cooking, healthy and vegetarian recipes, corporate advertising cookbooks, and manuscript recipe books.

The core of the collection consists of more than 500 books donated by San Antonio resident Laurie Gruenbeck in 2001. Gruenbeck acquired the cookbooks during her travels in Texas and Mexico over 30 years. The collection continues to grow through purchases and gifts.

How To Access The Collection

UTSA's Special Collections are open to all researchers. UTSA affiliation is not required, but we do ask all researchers to provide a photo ID prior to using our materials. Our Special Collections materials do not circulate, so materials must be accessed in our Reading Room on the 4th floor of the John Peace Library.

Please visit during regular hours or contact us to make an appointment.

To view a complete list of the collection in the Library Catalog, conduct a search for "Mexican Cookbook Collection". 

For our digitized Mexican cookbooks, visit our Digital Collections

Culinary Origins

Historic Cookbooks

Manuscript Cookbooks

Manuscript cookbooks are unpublished, often handwritten cookbooks.

Corporate Cookbooks

Celebrity Cookbooks

Vegan/Vegetarian Cooking

San Antonio Cookbooks