- Find Information
- Research Guides
- COM 5103: Theories and Application of International Communication Zhang
COM 5103: Theories and Application of International Communication Zhang
A guide for Dr. Juyan Zhang's COM 5103 course.
Your Librarian
Research Design
- International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods covers all communication research methods, including new and advanced methods and measurement tools developed in other fields that may be useful to communication scholars. Although there is some overlap with methods used in other areas of social science (i.e., sociology, anthropology, linguistics, business, and philosophy), the encyclopedia highlights research settings and challenges that communication scholars encounter in their day-to-day work. Information is presented in three parts: foundations of empirical research, methods of data collection, and methods of data analysis.
Composing Research, Communicating Results by ISBN: 9781119407232Publication Date: 2017-08-22Composing Research, Communicating Results: Writing the Communication Research Paper provides communication students with the knowledge and necessary tools to compose a variety of course-required papers that are scholarly, accessible, and well-written. The first work of its kind to take students from brainstorming to outlining to sentence and paragraph construction to paper presentation, drawing on student-written examples Easy-to-understand explanations of passive voice, point of view, commonly accepted citation styles, and more, with current and relatable student-written examples Covers common writing assignments in communication and related courses, including the literature review, application paper, and empirical research paper Four pedagogical features enhance comprehension and support learning: "Write Away" quick exercises, integratable "Building Blocks" assignments, "Engaging Ethics" tips, and "Student Spotlight" examples
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by ISBN: 0190243651Publication Date: 2016-01-08Provides the community-oriented researcher with tools to learn about and apply cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. The Handbook presents a number of innovative methodologies relevant to community-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects.
Handbook of Survey Methodology for the Social Sciences by ISBN: 9781461438755Publication Date: 2012-06-21Addresses issues throughout all phases of survey design and implementation. Chapters examine the major survey methods of data collection, providing expert guidelines for asking targeted questions, improving accuracy and quality of responses, while reducing sampling and non-sampling bias.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by ISBN: 9781483381435Publication Date: 2017-05-08Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version
- International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods covers all communication research methods, including new and advanced methods and measurement tools developed in other fields that may be useful to communication scholars. Although there is some overlap with methods used in other areas of social science (i.e., sociology, anthropology, linguistics, business, and philosophy), the encyclopedia highlights research settings and challenges that communication scholars encounter in their day-to-day work. Information is presented in three parts: foundations of empirical research, methods of data collection, and methods of data analysis.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowContains content on research methods from books, journals and reference sources; research methods videos; tutorials; case studies showing how research methods are applied; and practice datasets from actual research. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes entire "Little Green Book" (quantitative research) and "Little Blue Book" (qualitative research) series.
- Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowContains more than 120 hours of video, including tutorials, case studies, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Videos are well-suited for flipped instruction, embedding in course management systems, and for use in-class. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action.
- Project PlannerSteps you through stages of designing research: from designing a topic, designing a researchable question, collecting data, data analysis and interpretation, writing up, dissemination, and more.