COM 5103: Theories and Application of International Communication Zhang

Covers the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as its practical application. Features: Nearly 600 original articles to provide comprehensive coverage of this exciting field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. All articles were specifically commissioned for this work, signed and authored by key figures in the field, and conclude with cross reference links and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include a Resource Guide with annotated lists of classic books and articles, journals, associations, and web sites; a Glossary of specialized terms; and a Chronology offering an overview and history of the field. A thematic Reader's Guide groups related articles by broad topic areas as one handy search feature on the e-Reference platform, which also includes a comprehensive index of search terms. This A-to-Z three-volume reference is available in both print and online formats and is a must-have for libraries and researchers who seek comprehensive coverage of the theory, research, and applications of health communication.

Now in its third edition, this text examines how African Americans personally and culturally define themselves and how that definition informs their communication habits, practices, and norms. This edition includes new chapters that highlight discussions of gender and sexuality, intersectional differences, contemporary social movements, and digital and mediated communication.

Human beings are adapted for group living. Groups have a wide range of adaptive functions for individuals, including both material benefits of mutual aid and collective action, and subjective psychological benefits of affiliation and social identity. Recent development of cultural psychology,however, has uncovered that culture plays crucial roles in group processes: patterns of group behavior and underlying psychological processes are shaped within specific cultural contexts, and cultures emerge in group-based interactions. Culture and Group Processes, the inaugural volume of theFrontiers of Culture and Psychology series, is the first edited book on this rapidly emerging research topic. The eleven chapters included in this volume, all authored by distinguished scientists in the field, reveal the role of culture in group perceptions, social identity, group dynamics, identity negotiation, teamwork, intergroup relations, and intergroup communication, as well as the joint effect ofcultural and group processes in interpersonal trust and creativity.

Aims to furnish scholars with a consolidated resource of works that highlights all aspects of the field, its historical inception, logics, terms, and possibilities. A consolidated resource of works that highlights all aspects of this developing field, its historical inception, logics, terms, and possibilities Traces the significant historical developments in intercultural communication.

The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme--known as "intercultural communication"--and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries.

Global Communication is the most definitive text on multi-national communication and media conglomerates, exploring how global media influences both audiences and policy makers around the world. This new edition is comprehensively updated to reflect the many fast moving developments associated with this dynamic field. A new edition of the most definitive text on multi-national communication and media conglomerates, each chapter updated with extensive new details Covers the expanding area of global communication and describes major multimedia conglomerates, particularly in the USA, including the purchase of NBC-Universal by Comcast and Disney′s expansion in China Includes new information on the phone hacking scandal by News Corporation s employees in the UK Explains the significant changes in the communication industry both in the US and elsewhere Chronicles the continuing story of the development of Arab Media with new coverage on the Arab Spring Offers an updated companion website with instructor′s manual, test banks and student activities, available upon publication at <a href="http://www.wiley.com/go/mcphail">www.wiley.com/go/mcphail

Represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative twelve-volume set is jointly published by Wiley-Blackwell and the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world. A ground-breaking collection of nearly 1,350 original entries within a 12 volume set, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research Jointly published by Wiley Blackwell and the prestigious International Communication Association (ICA) Newly-commissioned entries divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry within communication, each of which is headed by a leading expert in their respective field Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas within this dynamic and interdisciplinary field.

This volume's purpose is to reconnect the partially isolated environments of social psychology and communication. To do so, it utilizes four building blocks: * the cognitive foundations of interpersonal communication as it might be studied from a social psychological perspective * insiders' views of interpersonal communication from a cognitive psychological standpoint * insiders' approaches to interpersonal communication from an AI perspective * a critique of the cognitive enterprise that reflects the strong philosophical grounding of communication.

Emphasizes constructive conflict management from a communication perspective which places primacy in the message as the focus of conflict research and practice.

Focuses on socially meaningful applied research in communication, this book offers a new direction for interpersonal communication studies. Features original studies that are practical and relevant, chapters provide readers with a balanced combination of rigorous research with pragmatic application.

Collaborative spaces are more than physical locations of work and production. They present strong identities centered on collaboration, exchange, sense of community, and co-creation, which are expected to create a physical and social atmosphere that facilitates positive social interaction, knowledge sharing, and information exchange. This book explores the complex experiences and social dynamics that emerge within and between collaborative spaces and how they impact, sometimes unexpectedly, on creativity and innovation. Collaborative Spaces at Work is timely and relevant: it will address the gap in critical understandings of the role and outcomes of collaborative spaces. Advancing the debate beyond regional development rhetoric, the book will investigate, through various empirical studies, if and how collaborative spaces do actually support innovation and the generation of new ideas, products, and processes. The book is intended as a primary reference in creativity and innovation, workspaces, knowledge and creative workers, and urban studies. Given its short chapters and strong empirical orientation, it will also appeal to policy makers interested in urban regeneration, sustaining innovation, and social and economic development, and to managers of both collaborative spaces and companies who want to foster creativity within larger organizations. It can also serve as a textbook in master's degrees and PhD courses on innovation and creativity, public management, urban studies, management of work, and labor relations.

The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication offers a comprehensive collection of entries contributed by international experts on the origin, evolution, and current state of knowledge of all facets of contemporary organizational communication. Represents the definitive international reference resource on a topic of increasing relevance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Examines organization communication across a range of contexts, including NGOs, global corporations, community cooperatives, profit and non-profit organizations, formal and informal collectives, virtual work, and more Features topics ranging from leader-follower communication, negotiation and bargaining and organizational culture to the appropriation of communication technologies, emergence of inter-organizational networks, and hidden forms of work and organization Offers an unprecedented level of authority and diverse perspectives, with contributions from leading international experts in their associated fields Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library Awarded 2017 Best Edited Book award by the Organizational Communication Division, National Communication Association

This short, accessible book on the art of chairing is an indispensable guide to help Chairs and meetings (of all types) to work more effectively. There are millions of meetings every day in public and private organisations. A poor Chair can lead to unproductive meetings, weak outcomes, unclear actions and even major fallouts. Many types of meeting within business settings and beyond are covered in this short book - from regular meetings to company board meetings, conferences and senior level regulatory meetings.

Movements in Organizational Communication Research is an essential resource for anyone wishing to become familiar with the current state of organizational communication research and key trends in the field. Seasoned organizational communication scholars will find that the book provides unique insights by way of the intergenerational dialogue that is found in the book, as well as the contributors' stories about their scholarly trajectories. Those who are new to the field will find that the book enables them to familiarize themselves with the field and become a part of the organizational communication scholarly community in an inviting and accessible way. Key features of the book include: A review of current issues and future directions in 13 topical areas of organizational communication research. Intergenerational dialogue and collaboration between both established and emerging scholars in their specialty areas. Reflections by the authors on their scholarly trajectories and how they became a part of the field. Discussion questions at the end of each chapter that prompt reflections and debate. The book also features online resources for instructors: Sample course syllabus Suggested case studies from the book Cases in Organization and Managerial Communication to align with this book's chapters The book is recommended as the anchor text for introductory graduate-level courses and upper-level undergraduate courses in organizational communication. It is also an excellent supplementary text for advanced doctoral-level courses in organizational communication, and courses in related fields such as organization studies, organizational behavior, and management.

The Handbook of Organizational Communication, like the original, is a landmark in the field of organizational communication. The handbook provides a more up-to-date analysis of the latest advances in this exciting field. It assists in establishing a clear identity of this discipline that has grown tremendously over the latter part of the century.

Origins and Traditions of Organizational Communication provides a sophisticated overview of the fundamentals of organizational communication as a field of study, examining the field's foundations and providing an assessment of the field to date, explaining and demonstrating a communicational approach to the study of organization. It provides a set of literature reviews on focused topics written by experts in each area, and links organizational communication theory and research to practice. In reviewing foundational management theory, the book analyzes how early to mid-20th-century management theories shaped contemporary organizations, providing students both with background knowledge of these foundational theories and an understanding of their influence on our thinking and our organizational world. Written at an accessible level for early graduate students, yet still sophisticated enough for doctoral students, the book is ideal for students and teachers of organizational communication and communication history. Downloadable ancillary materials include chapter PowerPoints and a set of instructors' materials containing chapter abstracts, glossaries, discussion questions, annotated supplementary readings lists, and practitioners' corners. Please visit www.routledge.com/9781138570313.

Organizational communication as a discipline has grown tremendously over the latter part of the 20th century, but accompanying that growth has been a struggle to establish a clear identity for the field. The ongoing evolution of complex organizations in an equally complex global environment has scholars continuing to define and redefine the focus, the boundaries and the future of the field. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Communication, completely reconceptualized for this Third Edition, is a landmark volume that weaves together the various threads of this interdisciplinary area of scholarship.

The Work of Communication: Constituting Materiality, Agency, and Organization in Contemporary Capitalism revolves around a two-part question: "What have work and organization become under contemporary capitalism--and how should organization studies approach them?" Changes in the texture of capitalism, heralded by social and organizational theorists alike, increasingly focus attention on communication as both vital to the conduct of work and as imperative to organizational performance. Yet most accounts of communication in organization studies fail to understand an alternate sense of the "work of communication" in the constitution of organizations, work practices, and economies. This book responds to that lack by portraying communicative practices#65533;as opposed to individuals, interests, technologies, structures, organizations, or institutions#65533;as the focal units of analysis in studies of the social and organizational problems occasioned by contemporary capitalism. Rather than suggesting that there exists a canonically "correct" route communicative analyses must follow, The Work of Communication: Constituting Materiality, Agency, and Organization in Contemporary Capitalism explores a set of approaches to how communication can be profitably foregrounded in studies of work and organization. Across these approaches, the book shows how novel visions of materiality, agency, and organization emerge from our commitments to seeing communication as a relational practice. It goes on to illustrate the benefits that investigations of work and organization can realize from distinctly communicative approaches by presenting innovative analyses of (a) affect and the body, (b) creativity as a communicative accomplishment, (c) the constitution of start-up entrepreneurship, and (d) firms as political actors. Aimed at academics, researchers and policy makers, this book aims, is to make tangible the contributions of communication for thinking about contemporary social and organizational problems.

Whether it's television, radio, concerts, live appearances by comedians, Internet websites, or even the political party conventions themselves, the mixing of politics and popular culture is frequently on display. The "Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture" examines the people, major events, media, and controversies in eight thematic chapters and over 150 entries to provide an invaluable resource for any student, scholar, or everyday political junkie needing a comprehensive introduction to the subject. On a typical weeknight in the United States, millions shun the traditional evening network news broadcasts and, instead, later grab their remotes to turn to Comedy Central to catch up on the political happenings of the day, delivered by the comedian Jon Stewart on the faux news program, "The Daily Show." Immediately afterwards, they might stay tuned to "The Colbert Report" for another dosage of hilarious, fake news that, to them, comes across more honestly than the serious version they could watch on CNN. Whether it's television, radio, concerts, live appearances by comedians, Internet websites, or even the political party conventions themselves, the mixing of politics and popular culture is frequently on display. The "Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture" provides in-depth coverage of these fascinating, and often surprising intersections in both historical and contemporary culture. This highly readable and entertaining encyclopedia provides a sweeping survey of the historic and ongoing interplay between politics, the media, and popular culture in eight thought-provoking chapters. The volume is enhanced with the inclusion of over 150 entries to help students and researchers easily locate more in-depth information on topics ranging from political scandals to YouTube.

This practical book gives students the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary to communicate more effectively and interact more productively in the small group setting. With the help of this book, any group member can learn the skills necessary to participate in and lead a task group in an effective, productive, and healthy manner. This third edition features all new sections on: - "The Power of Diversity" - "Critically Thinking About Yourself As A Communicator" - "Defensive vs. Supportive Climates" - "Ethical Communication" - "Time Management" - "Impromptu Speaking" - "The Spirit of Collaboration" As well as new end chapter exercises in several chapters focusing on Online Resources and Social Media.

Human beings are adapted for group living. Groups have a wide range of adaptive functions for individuals, including both material benefits of mutual aid and collective action, and subjective psychological benefits of affiliation and social identity. Recent development of cultural psychology,however, has uncovered that culture plays crucial roles in group processes: patterns of group behavior and underlying psychological processes are shaped within specific cultural contexts, and cultures emerge in group-based interactions. Culture and Group Processes, the inaugural volume of theFrontiers of Culture and Psychology series, is the first edited book on this rapidly emerging research topic. The eleven chapters included in this volume, all authored by distinguished scientists in the field, reveal the role of culture in group perceptions, social identity, group dynamics, identity negotiation, teamwork, intergroup relations, and intergroup communication, as well as the joint effect ofcultural and group processes in interpersonal trust and creativity.

The Emerald Handbook of Group and Team Communication Researchconsiders the current research of group communication scholars, provides an overview of major foci in the discipline, and points toward possible trajectories for future scholarship. It establishes group communication's central role within research on human behaviour and fosters an identity for group communication researchers.  This book establishes communication scholarship as essential to group research by exploring the various dimensions of communicating in groups and teams. Communication is fundamental to group research, and the deeper, more nuanced treatment of the subject in this handbook consolidates and expands theory and research in the area.

The study of group communication has never been more critical, as recent national and international events point to the fragility of group life. An emerging perspective, the bona fide group perspective, offers hope for improving group communication, for it recognizes that any group--a family, community group, expedition team, social support group, organizational work group, interorganizational collaboration, or international team--must be studied and understood within the multiple contexts in which it is embedded and that significantly affects who is considered to be part of a group, what occurs within that group, and how that group interacts with other groups.

Language, Communication, and Intergroup Relationspresents the current state of knowledge at the intersection of language, communication, and intergroup relations, drawing on interdisciplinary work from the fields of communication, social psychology, and sociolinguistics. Building from that existing work, it presents a series of provocative and innovative new directions in this area. The work is organized around a series of five themes: * Language and Culture * Intergroup Communication * Intergenerational Relations * Interpersonal Accommodation * Institutional Accommodation. Within each theme, prominent scholars present reviews of the literature, which are followed by responses, reactions, and extensions from a multidisciplinary group of researchers. These responses often move beyond typical academic prose and engage with the material in novel ways, including graphical theoretical models, short personal reflections, and creative prose. It is essential reading for students and academics in the interdisciplinary fields of communication, language, and social psychology.

Provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. Provides a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist - just enough to help grasp the general concept or theory and its relation to the discipline as a whole. Edited by the co-authors of the best-selling textbook on communication theory and drawing on the expertise of an advisory board of 10 international scholars and nearly 200 contributors from 10 countries, this work finally provides such a resource. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts. Entries cover several orientations, including psycho-cognitive; social-interactional; cybernetic and systems; cultural; critical; feminist; philosophical; rhetorical; semiotic, linguistic, and discursive; and non-Western. Concepts relate to interpersonal communication, groups and organizations, and media and mass communication. In sum, this encyclopedia offers the student of communication a sense of the history, development, and current status of the discipline, with an emphasis on the theories that comprise it.