The most trusted guide to getting published, fully revised and updated.
Want to get published and paid for your writing? Let Writer's Market, 100th edition guide you through the process. It's the ultimate reference with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections, along with contact and submission information.
Beyond the listings, you'll find articles devoted to the business and promotion of writing. Discover 20 literary agents actively seeking writers and their writing, how to develop an author brand, and overlooked funds for writers. This 100th edition also includes the ever-popular pay-rate chart and book publisher subject index.
You'll gain access to:
Thousands of updated listings for book publishers, magazines, contests, and literary agents
Articles devoted to the business and promotion of writing
A newly revised "How Much Should I Charge?" pay rate chart
Sample query letters for fiction and nonfiction Lists of professional writing organizations
A poet's complete guide to getting published, this work provides pubishing opportunities for aspiring and established poets alike, from magazines, small presses and competitions to state and provincial grants. It also includes advice and inspiration from prominent poets.
Revised and Updated! The Creative Writing MFA Handbook guides prospective graduate students through the difficult process of researching, applying to, and choosing graduate schools in creative writing. The handbook includes profiles of fifty creative writing programs, guidance through the application process, advice from current professors and students including George Saunders, Aimee Bender, Tracy K. Smith, and Geoffrey Wolff, and the most comprehensive listings of graduate writing programs in and outside the United States. The handbook also includes special sections about Low-Residency writing programs, Ph.D. programs, publishing in literary journals, and workshop and teaching advice. In a remarkably concise, user-friendly fashion, The Creative Writing MFA Handbook answers as many questions as possible, and is packed with information, advice, and experience. This second edition updates and builds upon the first edition, which was published in 2005 to great acclaim and contains a vastly expanded ranking of current creative writing programs.
List of topics:
What an MFA Degree Can Offer
How to Choose an MFA Program
Low-Residency MFA Programs
Online MFA Programs
Other Resources, including a link to a database of programs and a collection of articles regarding MFA programs
Well over ten thousand poets, writers of literary prose, and translators maintain listings in this essential resource for literary artists who are interested in connecting with their peers—as well as editors, agents, and reading series coordinators looking for authors and translators for new projects. Apply today to join the growing community of writers who stay connected using the Poets & Writers Directory.
"The Writers’ League of Texas (WLT) is the largest literary arts organization in Texas, a statewide nonprofit offering programs and services to writers at all stages of their writing careers, from just getting started to publication and beyond.
Founded in 1981, the organization’s mission is to provide a forum for information, support, and sharing among writers; to help writers improve their craft and understand the business of publishing; to promote the interests of writers from diverse cultural, economic, sexual identity and orientation, ethnic, and religious backgrounds; and to elevate the art and enterprise of writing, including supporting and growing the Texas literary community at large."
The Writers' League of Texas, About page
A list of online literary journals for creative nonfiction, in three categories:
Great journals to secure your first publications in
Competitive journals for writers with previous publications
High-tier creative nonfiction journals at the summit of publishing