Maker learning spaces in schools and public libraries are made real through the narratives of professional librarians around the world, comprising the collaborative activities, experiences, and perspectives of librarians as they have implemented makerspaces for students of all ages. * Provides inspirational examples of successful makerspaces in school and public libraries * Furnishes practical, immediately usable projects, assignments, and curricula * Offers needed examples of how to train maker librarians * Showcases working partnerships between school and public librarians in makerspace endeavors
Lifelong learning, the arts, and community cultural engagement in the contemporary university maps the work of adult educators, teachers, researchers and graduate students from North America, Europe and Africa who use the arts in their university classroom teaching, their research and in service. It is written specifically for graduate students, and educators working in higher education, communities, schools, and practitioners who want to learn how to better integrate the arts in their practice to critically and creativity communicate, teach, make meaning, uncover, and involve. The book contextualises the place and role of the arts in society, adult education, higher education and knowledge creation, outlines current arts-based theories and methodologies and provides examples of visual and performing arts practices to critically and creatively see, explore, represent, learn and discover the potential of the human aesthetic dimension in higher education teaching and research.
Educators and education policy has increasingly acknowledged the value of creativity and creative approaches to education in particular. This book highlights a range of innovative teaching techniques successfully employed by teachers from a range of disciplines and education levels in order to share knowledge regarding creative education.
The San Antonio Public Library is the public library system serving the city of San Antonio, Texas. It consists of a central library, 29 branch libraries, and a library portal. SAPL was awarded the National Medal for Museum and Library Service in 2006. In 2003, SAPL celebrated its centennial.
Contains more than 44 million bibliographic records describing materials (books, journals, films, manuscripts, scores, computer files, etc.) held by libraries around the world. More than 400 languages are represented. Provides links to library holdings.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials in the public domain (i.e., published before 1924), government documents, or materials made available by the copyright holder. Copyrighted items are still available for full-text searching.