- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Ancient Greece & Rome: History & Culture
Ancient Greece & Rome: History & Culture
A guide to selected books, primary sources, and classical texts online
Trajan's Column, Rome
Photo credit:
Detail of Trajan's Column, Rome, dedicated 113 C.E., Zacharias Stelios (5telios), photo available on Flickr.com
Background for Art Topics
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed Grove Dictionary of Art, an all-inclusive scholarly art encyclopedia, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, a comprehensive resource for artist biographies. Includes thousands of articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture. Excellent starting point for authoritative information about artists and architects, art movements and periods, and art theory. Also includes The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Regularly updated. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007Also, available as an e-book
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History at the Metropolitan Museum of ArtAuthoritative museum resource! Timelines, thematic essays, world maps, images, subject/artist index.
Art Survey Textbooks
Art History survey textbooks are a good source for background information.
Art History by Call Number: N5300 .S923
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by Call Number: N5300 .G25
History of Art by Call Number: N5300 .J3 2004
Greek Art and Architecture
UTSA Libraries has many books on Greek and Roman art and architecture. This is just a small sample to whet your appetite.
Greek Art by Call Number: N5630 .B58 2016
How to Read Greek Vases by Call Number: NK4645 .M475 2010
Roman Art and Architecture
Roman Art by Call Number: N5760 .Z3313 2010
Roman Art: Romulus to Constantine by Call Number: N5760 .R36 2009
Images
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA cross-disciplinary collection of millions of high-quality images, curated from the world's leading museums and archives. Browse or search for images, save images to "Workspace" folders, download, share, make presentations, and more. And, with Artstor’s images integrated alongside JSTOR’s library of full-text scholarship and other media, users can more easily situate image content in a historical, critical, or cultural context.
- ArtSTOR Classics Subject GuideThis guide highlights ArtSTOR content related to the ancient Mediterranean world, including images of architecture, architectural decoration, sculpture, vases, mosaics, jewelry, metalwork, etc.
- Ancient Athens 3DThree dimensional reconstructions of the monuments and buildings of Athens from the Mycenaean period (1600 BCE) to the Early Modern period (AD 1833),
- Ara Pacis AugustaeThis purpose of this site is to present the Ara Pacis Augustae in both its artistic and historical contexts. Many images have been included to allow the reader to fully explore the intricate friezes and reliefs found throughout the Ara Pacis. Accompanying these images are descriptions of what exactly is being depicted along with its significance to the idea of Augustan Peace.
- Corpus Vasorum AntiquorumConsists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world.
- Lowenstam Collection of Ancient Western Art and ArchaeologyThis 35mm slide collection is composed primarily of ceramics in European and American museums, architecture and archaeological sites across southern Europe.
- Roman Republican Coins in the British MuseumA catalog of the more than 12,000 Roman Republican coins held in the British Museum, with descriptions and chronology. Click on "related objects" to see the coins.
- Speculum Romanae MagnificentiaeThe Speculum Romanae Magnificentiae is a collection of engravings of Rome and Roman antiquities, the core of which consists of prints published by Antonio Lafreri and gathered under a title page he printed in the mid-1570's.
- Art Images for College TeachingOver 2000 images for use in college classes. "Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community."
- Bildindex der Kunst und ArchitekturFree website with approximately two million art and architecture images from thirteen European countries. Site is in German, Many drawings, engravings, and photographs of Greek and Roman antiquities including statuary, buildings,, monuments, etc.
- EuropeanaExplore the digital resources of Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Discover paintings, drawings, photographs, maps, music, films, books, letters, diaries and archival papers.
- Flickr CommonsPublic collection of photographs and art works in the Public Domain drawn from museum and archival collections around the world. Click on the "Participating Institutions" link to find works from a particular museum, archive, or library.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsDigital collection on a wide variety of topics including WWI photograph albums and postcards, historical photographs of New York City, maps and atlases of the U.S., rare books, personal papers of English and American authors, and more.