- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Ancient Greece & Rome: History & Culture
Ancient Greece & Rome: History & Culture
Loeb Classical Library
The Loeb Classical Library is the standard collection of classical masterpieces. Each book in the series provides the original Greek or Latin text with English translation. To find them use Library Quick Search, the big search box on the Libraries' home page, and select the Catalog tab. Do a Catalog search for a particular author, i.e. Hesiod, Virgil, etc. You can also try a Catalog search for: loeb classical library. Print copies of the Greek texts have green covers, Latin texts have red covers.
Classical Texts Online
-
Perseus Digital LibraryA collection of transcribed texts, including many Greek and Roman materials. Most are English translations, but some are available in Greek and Latin.
-
Theoi Greek MythologyThe Theoi Project explores Greek mythology in classical literature and art. Free classic texts from Hesiod to Virgil are arranged in chronological order.
-
Abridged Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeProvides searching and browsing of a smaller selection of Thesaurus Linguae Graecae texts including Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, and other notable Greek tragedians and orators. Register for a free account to start using open access resources.
-
The Chicago HomerThe Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts of these poems in the original Greek.
References and Abbreviations
Books and articles referencing classical texts often use standard abbreviations instead of complete citations. For example: Livy (23.7.3) or Liv. 23.7.3 for Livy's History of Rome, Book 23, Chapter 7, Section 3.
You can find these using the Perseus Digital Library's Abbreviation Help. Links from that list lead you to the text (in English translation, when available).
Other Online Classical Texts
-
Google BooksBooks digitized by Google or obtained from publishers. Out-of-copyright titles in full text; selected sections for copyrighted content.
-
Internet Archive
A non-profit, public digital library founded in 1996 offering free online access to a wide range of out-of-copyright fiction and non-fiction books in English or foreign languages, as well as archived web pages, historical newspapers, video and audio files. You can create a free account to access some copyrighted books for one hour renewable checkout. -
Internet Classics ArchiveOver 400 classical works in English translation.
-
Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks, which can be read online or downloaded. These books are all in the public domain.
