Copyright in the K-12 Classroom

This guide is for preservice teachers wanting to know more about copyright in the classroom.

Public Domain Resources

The Public Domain has a wealth of resources that are readily available to use in your classrooms. Just remember to cite and/or attribute them properly so that you can be the role model!

Online Books Page
Project Gutenberg
Public Domain Review
University of Florida’s Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature

105 Free Stock Photo and Art Image Websites
Digital Photography Collections From the National Archives
Free Images
Getty Institute
Government Resources for Science Images and Video
Medical Stock Sources: Images, Photographs, Videos, Animations, and Film Footage
NASA Image Galleries
National Gallery of Art Images
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Pexels
Pictures of Native Americans in the United States From the National Archives
Pixabay
Stockography
Unsplash

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
Government Resources for Science Images and Video
Khan Academy YouTube Channel
National Geographic YouTube Channel
TED ED YouTube Channel
WatchKnowLearn

LibriVox

America's Library From the Library of Congress
DocsTeach From the National Archives
Smithsonian Education

American Memory Collection From the Library of Congress
Internet Archive
National Archives

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) have a variety of freely-available and books and workbooks for students and teachers. Here are a couple reputable sites for K - 12:

CK-12
OpenStax
Open Up Resources