- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Political Science
Political Science
Guide to research in political science.
U.S. Congressional and Legislative
- CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text reference resources on topics in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Congress, Public Affairs, Voting and Elections, and Supreme Court collections, as well as Encyclopedia of American Government. Also includes CQ Almanac, CQ Global Researcher, and CQ Political Reference Suite titles: Congress and the Nation, Political Handbook of the World, Historic Documents Series, Washington Information Directory, and Politics in America. Collections may contain dictionary or encyclopedia entries, image galleries, and maps.
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowContains full-text nonpartisan weekly reports on U.S. Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995. Previously called CQ Weekly.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.
- Apportionment DataThis Bureau of the Census webpage has data covering 1910-2020. Apportionment is the process of dividing the 435 memberships, or seats, in the House of Representatives among the 50 states based on the population figures collected during the decennial census.
- Congress.govLibrary of Congress website for obtaining federal legislative information, including bill summaries and status, presidential nominations for high appointed offices, and the texts of treaties.
- Congressional Bills ProjectProvides information about more than 400,000 bills introduced in the U.S. Congress, currently 1947-2008, along with extensive information about each bill's progress and sponsor.
- GovTrack.us - Roll Call VotesGovTrack is a tool created by Civic Impulse, LLC to track bills in the U.S. Congress and to view representatives’ legislative record. 1789-current
