Special Education

"UTSA’s Teacher Education: Autism Model (TEAM) Center functions as a “teaching hospital” for training teachers to use scientifically validated procedures for teaching students with Autism Spectrum Disorders and other intellectual disabilities."

ATE is a "center for school districts, community colleges, the private sector and UTSA to collaboratively research, design, implement and evaluate educational programs that address emerging, statewide and local educational issues associated with a growing diverse student population."

"UTSA’s Reading Place offers assistance in reading and writing to San Antonio area children. In addition, the UTSA Reading Place provides training for university students through teaching experiences and conducts research on problems in literacy learning."

The ADA provides federal, legal guidelines for any disability.

"The overall mission of the Can Do! is to help people, especially kids, develop a more positive attitude and perspective about themselves and the people in the world around them."

The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central resource of information and products to the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs), so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities.

"Disability Scoop is the first and only national news organization serving the developmental disability community including autism, cerebral palsy, Down syndrome and intellectual disability, among others."

This is a free online version of our database ERIC. "ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included."

A subscription-based company that offers a "visual way to explore and understand words, numbers and concepts" for K-5.

"LD OnLine is the leading website on learning disabilities, learning disorders and differences. Parents and teachers of learning disabled children will find authoritative guidance on attention deficit disorder, ADD / ADHD, dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia, dysnomia, reading difficulties, speech and related disorders."

"The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."

"The NCLD works to ensure that the nation's 15 million children, adolescents, and adults with learning disabilities have every opportunity to succeed in school, work, and life."

"The University of Connecticut is home to the Neag Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development. Studies focusing on meeting the needs of gifted and talented youth have received national and international attention for over 40 years. The earliest research emphasized studies related to creativity, assessment, identification, programming, and evaluation."

"Odyssey of the Mind is an international educational program that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Team members apply their creativity to solve problems that range from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics."

Education Service Center, Region 20 (ESC-20) positively impacts the learning community through high quality, cost effective products and services in the San Antonio Region.

Sesame Street has a variety of resources to instruct and celebrate the uniqueness of each & every child.

"The Texas Education Agency is the state agency that oversees primary and secondary public education in the state of Texas."

"ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."

UDL "is a framework for designing curricula that enable all individuals to gain knowledge, skills, and enthusiasm for learning. UDL provides rich supports for learning and reduces barriers to the curriculum while maintaining high achievement standards for all."

"Parents, educators, advocates, and attorneys come to Wrightslaw for accurate, reliable information about special education law, education law, and advocacy for children with disabilities."

"The Zarrow Center for Learning Enrichment facilitates successful secondary and postsecondary educational, vocational and personal outcomes for students and adults with disabilities."