ESL 5033: Second Language Reading & Writing (Christiansen)

A resource for understanding significant research developments in the field of second language (L2) writing.

In Connecting Reading and Writing in Second Language Instruction, Alan Hirvela contends that second language writing students should be considered as readers first and advocates the integration of reading and writing instruction with a survey of theory, research, and pedagogy in the subject area.

Connecting Speaking & Writing in Second Language Writing Instruction provides both a theoretical perspective on the importance of L2 learners' development of written language as well as practical strategies for incorporating social interaction into the writing classroom. Weissberg provides a compelling argument for rethinking and reclaiming the speaking-writing connection.

The book addresses issues in the field of teaching academic writing to non-native speakers. This book provides a series of discussions about multiple aspects of second language writing, presenting chapters that collectively address a range of issues that are important to new teachers at the post-secondary level.

Feedback in Second Language Writing: Context and Issues provides scholarly articles on the topic by leading researchers, who explore topics such as the socio-cultural assumptions that participants bring to the writing class; feedback delivery and negotiation systems; and the role of student and teacher identity in negotiating feedback and expectations. This text provides empirical data and an up-to-date analysis of the complex issues involved in offering appropriate feedback during the writing process.

Second language students not only need strategies for drafting and revising to write effectively, but also a clear understanding of genre so that they can appropriately structure their writing for various contexts. Over that last decade, increasing attention has been paid to the notion of genre and its central place in language teaching and learning. Genre and Second Language Writing enters into this important debate, providing an accessible introduction to current theory and research in the area of written genres-and applying these understandings to the practical concerns of today's EFL/ESL classroom.

This book documents the results of a multi-year project that investigated the goals for writing improvement among 45 students and their instructors in intensive courses of English as a Second Language (ESL) then, a year later, in academic programs at two Canadian universities. The researchers present a detailed framework to describe these goals from the perspectives of the students as well as their instructors. The goals are analyzed for groups of students from particular backgrounds internationally, for changes over time, and in relation to the ESL and academic courses.

The book addresses issues in the field of teaching academic writing to non-native speakers. This book provides a series of discussions about multiple aspects of second language writing, presenting chapters that collectively address a range of issues that are important to new teachers at the post-secondary level.

In recent years, Ulla Connor has built a steadily more extensive and sophisticated case for how a culturally contextualized study of rhetoric in any media can be carried out without static and reductive over-generalizations about culture/s or rhetoric. This volume provides both an eloquent summation and further theoretical expansion of Connor's arguments.

In recent years, the number of nonnative speakers of English in colleges and universities in North America has increased dramatically. As a result, more and more writing teachers have found themselves working with these English as a Second Language (ESL) students in writing classes that are designed primarily with monolingual, native-English-speaking students in mind. Since the majority of institutions require these students to enroll in writing courses at all levels, it is becoming increasingly important for all writing teachers to be aware of the presence and special linguistic and cultural needs of ESL writers.

This text introduces an area of educational research, "teacher learning," as it applies to the teaching of languages. The paperback edition introduces a new field of educational research called "teacher learning," as it applies to the teaching of languages. Seventeen original articles, based on studies done in North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia, provide examples of theory and research into teacher learning and of the role that previous experience, social context, and professional training play in the process.

This work brings together internationally recognized scholars in a collection of original articles that delineates and explores central issues with regard to theory, research, instruction, assessment, politics, articulation with other disciplines, and standards.

Peer Response in Second Language Writing Classrooms will provide teachers with practical guidelines for making peer response effective in the classroom and will offer a theoretical grounding on the purposes and importance of peer review, or feedback, as it relates to current writing instruction pedagogy.

PRACTICING THEORY IN SECOND LANGUAGE WRITING features fourteen essays by distinguished scholars in second language writing who explore various aspects of theoretical work that goes on in the field. Contributors include Dwight Atkinson, Diane Belcher, A. Suresh Canagarajah, Joan Carson, Deborah Crusan, Alister Cumming, Doug Flahive, Lynn M. Goldstein, Linda Harklau, John Hedgcock, Alan Hirvela, Ryuko Kubota, Paul Kei Matsuda, Lourdes Ortega, Dudley W. Reynolds, Tony Silva, Christine Tardy, Gwendolyn Williams, and Wei Zhu.

Reinventing Identities in Second Language Writing explores how second language writers negotiate identity in a variety of academic and extracurricular settings. This collection offers diverse theoretical and methodological perspectives as well as second language writers' narrative accounts of how they construct identities through personal, school, and professional discourses.

This book is an accessible and authoritative approach to the theory and practice of teaching writing to students of English. It sets out the key issues in second language writing instruction to offer both pre-service and in-service teachers a guide to writing instruction grounded in current theory and research.

This comprehensive collection of thirteen original articles covers the major issues writing teachers face. It systematically sets out the key issues in second language writing instruction to offer both pre-service and in-service teachers a guide to writing instruction grounded in current theory and research.

Second Language Writing Systems looks at how people learn and use a second language writing system, arguing that they are affected by characteristics of the first and second writing systems, to a certain extent independently of the languages involved. This book presents for the first time the effects of writing systems on language reading and writing and on language awareness, and provides a new platform for discussing bilingualism, biliteracy and writing systems. The approach is interdisciplinary, with contributions not only from applied linguists and psychologists but also corpus linguists, educators and phoneticians. A variety of topics are covered, from handwriting to spelling, word recognition to the mental lexicon, and language textbooks to metalinguistic awareness. Though most of the studies concern adult L2 learners and users, other populations covered include minority children, immersion students and bilingual children.

In Teacher Written Commentary in Second Language Writing Classrooms, Lynn M. Goldstein uses ample research and experiential evidence to explain both how and why teachers should comment on their students' writing assignments. Among the problems that Goldstein addresses are how to attend to the product without slighting the process, how to intervene in process without appropriating product, how to facilitate student comprehension and use of teacher feedback while promoting student independence, and how to respond efficiently while remaining attentive to individual student needs.

This work attempts to fill an important gap in teacher professional preparation by focusing on the grammatical and lexical features that are essential for all ESL writing teachers and student-writers to know.

Written specifically for graduate students studying to become teachers of composition, this text provides well-documented, specific information about planning curricula, developing syllabi for each level of language proficiency in an ESL writing program, and day-to-day lesson plans for all levels of ESL writing classes.

Teaching Second-Language Writing is one volume of the authoritative 13-title TeacherSource series. The author examines the issue from three distinct perspectives: Teachers' Voices, which are authentic accounts of teacher's experiences; Frameworks, which are comprehensive discussions of theoretical issues; and Investigations, which are inquiry-based activities.