Patents & Trademarks

Patents & Trademark searching, U.S. and International

What is a Trademark?

In short, a trademark is a brand name. A trademark includes any word, name, symbol, device, or any combination, used, or intended to be used, in commerce to identify and distinguish the goods of one manufacturer or seller from goods manufactured or sold by others.

Trademark Indexes and Images

Trademark Electronic System Search (TESS)
TESS from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office contains full image of more than 4 million pending, registered and dead federally registered trademarks.
Trademarkia
A search engine for U.S. federally registered trademarks. Search by company's name, trademark category, logo theme, filing date, products and services, status, filing attorney's name and more.
Trademark Official Gazette
Annual Reports of the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Read Up About Trademarks

Basic Facts About Trademarks
Information from the US Patent & Trademark Office answering frequently asked questions in non-technical language.
Introduction to United States Government Information Sources
Print: JPL 3rd Floor J83 .M665
Patents and Trademarks are covered in Chapter 10, Intellectual Property.
Tapping the Government Grapevine: The User-Friendly Guide to U.S. Government Information Sources
Print: JPL 3rd Floor J38 .R63 1998
Patents, Trademarks and Copyright are discussed in Chapter 7.
Mastering United States Government Information : Sources and Services
by Christopher Brown
See Intellectual Property - Chapter 15
E-book

Brand Names - UTSA Resources

AtoZ Databases
Provides access to a directory of U.S. business, household, and healthcare information.

International Directory of Company Histories
An e-book collection of ninety eight volumes of company histories. Search by company name or by brand.
UTSA Libraries Brands Research Guide