- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Patents & Trademarks
Patents & Trademarks
Patents & Trademark searching, U.S. and International
Rail Maintenance
Railway Track Maintenance Machine for Truing The Head of Railway Track Rails - Canadian Patent #1152746
International Patents and Trademarks
Patent Office Directories
- Directory of Intellectual Property OfficesListing of Intellectual Property Offices by country. From World Intellectual Property Organization
Patent Databases for Foreign Patents
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowPatent search available from top drop-down menu. For intellectual property by company: from within the Business Topic module, use Company Dossier and search a company for a profile package which includes intellectual property.
- Canadian Patents DatabaseAccess to over 75 years of Canadian patent descriptions and images from more than 1,400,000 patent documents. Maintained by Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO).
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new windowContains Esp@cenet for patent information from the European Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, patent abstracts of Japan, and published patents from over 71 countries; USPTO for patents from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Coverage and update frequency varies.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet)Provides indexing and full text patents and applications from European and other patent offices worldwide, including U.S., Japan, and Germany. (EP, WIPO/PCT, US, GB, FR, DE, JP, and over 70 countries). You can save PDFs of available documents up to a certain page limit. This is the site SciFinder links to for non-U.S. patents. 1836-present
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)A specialized agency of the United Nations dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property system. An inventor who files for patent protection in any of the participating countries has 12 months to apply for protection in any of the other participating countries. This website includes the full-text of the Patent Cooperation Treaty and provides links to national patent offices.
- Indian Patent Search Service - InPASSIndian Patent Advanced Search System (InPASS) is an updated version of IPAIRS
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowIndexes and cross-references worldwide chemical patents. Note: PatentPak is an add-on workflow tool within SciFinder to enhance access to and analysis of full text patent documents. UTSA does not subscribe to PatentPak functionality apart from 5 free trial uses per user account
- AusPatAustralian Patents search database.