- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.
Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.
Find resources about the Civil Rights Movement in the United States, many of them arranged thematically.
Photo credit: Life Magazine cover: Medgar Evars' widow consoles her son at funeral service. Life Magazine on Google Books.
Key Databases
- African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowA large collection of full-text / full-image African American newspapers from all around the country. Covers the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text/full-image of several major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2019), Washington Post (1877-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), Guardian (1821-2003) Observer (1791-2003), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), and the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), El Paso Times (1881-2009), El Paso Herald (1896-1996). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to newspapers from urban to rural regions, large cities to small towns across the U.S. Includes newspapers published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and others. Coverage: 1800-1899.
- NewspaperArchive: Texas Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable full image access to many historical newspapers from all across Texas, including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). (Some years are incomplete.) Database covers 1813-2022.
Selected Newspapers & Magazines
- Chicago Tribune (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1849-1999. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- L.A./Los Angeles Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1881-1999. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- New York Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1851-2020. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Wall Street Journal (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1889-2012. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Washington Post (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1877-2008. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowA historical archive of one of Texas's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record for major news, key events, and personalities in Texas history. Broad state and regional coverage, from 1885-1977.
- HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to the complete historical backfile of the journal Harper's Weekly, published between 1857 and 1912. Included are full images of articles from the weekly publication, as well as original advertising and illustrations, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of world events and society in the last half of the 19th and the early years of the 20th centuries.
- Life Magazine on Google BooksA searchable archive of back issues of Life Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1930s - 1970s.
- Ebony Magazine on Google BooksA searchable archive of back issues of Ebony Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1950s - 2000s.
- Jet Magazine on Google BooksA searchable archive of back issues of Jet Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1950s - 2000s.
- BAD Times - The Black Americans for Democracy NewspaperThis digital collection includes twenty issues of newspapers published by the Black Americans for Democracy (BAD), a student organization founded in the late 1960s. Active at the University of Arkansas during most of the 1970s, BAD published the newspaper between 1971 and 1977 under three different titles: The BAD Times, Black Americans for Democracy News, and Times (Black Americans for Democracy). BAD was the first organization on campus founded specifically to increase black awareness. Published at an early stage in the integration of public universities in the American South, the newspapers illustrate the challenges faced by African American college students in Arkansas and the significant organizational work students undertook to make the University campus more accommodating and enjoyable for the University’s increasingly diverse student body.
- Portal to Texas History: NewspapersA digital gateway to historical materials from private collectors and collaborative partners, including libraries, museums, archives, and other historical groups.
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program - List of Newspapers on the PortalNewspapers are listed alphabetically with dates of coverage. The Texas Digital Newspaper Program is a partnership intended to create a digitized newspaper resource that covers a broad geographical area.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view more than a million digitized newspaper pages. Coverage is from 1756-1963. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Farm, Field, and Fireside Agricultural Newspaper CollectionHistorically significant farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, provided by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. More than 20 titles currently digitized.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper CollectionDigital facsimiles of historic Illinois newspapers provided by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Coverage is from the late nineteenth to the mid-twentieth centuries.
Newspapers from Center for Research Libraries
- CRL - Center for Research Libraries: NewsRequest any CRL newspapers on microfilm for free through UTSA Libraries' Interlibrary Loan. More than 12,000 newspaper titles, over 10,000 of which are published outside the U.S. CRL endeavors to collect extensive and, whenever possible, complete runs of newspaper titles, and its holdings of some titles are the most complete in existence. All newspapers can be searched in CRL's catalog. Newspapers are on microfilm and may be requested via Get It for Me.
- Search CRL NewspapersSearch by keyword or browse by country, U.S. state, or ethnicity.
Take a look at CRL's topic guide for News and note their extensive holdings.
Major categories within the news collection include:
- African American newspapers
- U.S. Ethnic newspapers
- Civilian Conservation Corp. Camp papers
- Underground and alternative press
- U.S. newspapers
CRL also holds collections of scripts, transcripts, and translations of news reports, produced or compiled by the British Broadcasting Corporation, Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc, Foreign Broadcast Information Service, and the Voice of America.
The Black Press
The Black Press: New Literary and Historical Essays by Call Number: PN4882.5 .B59 2001
The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation by Call Number: PN4888 .R3 R63 2006
