Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.

A portal to digital collections of oral histories, photographs, manuscripts, and more documenting the African American experiences particularly during the Civil Rights Era.

This site brings together more than 50 interviews conducted as part of a national initiative called the Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009. Sponsored by the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture.

The voices of the civil rights movement swelled into a wave of protest that profoundly changed America. This collection of interviews seeks to make this massive movement local and understandable by reducing it into its smallest parts—the people that participated, in small and large ways.

The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs collected by the “Voices of Civil Rights” project, a collaborative effort of AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR), and the Library of Congress, and marks the arrival of these materials in the Library's collection.

Selected digitized papers of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film clips, television archives, sound recordings, photographs, textual materials and more from the Civil Rights Era.

Mississippi was a focal point in the struggle for civil rights in America, and Hattiesburg, home of The University of Southern Mississippi, had the largest and most successful Freedom Summer project in 1964. The Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive includes a selection of digitized photographs, letters, diaries, and other documents. Oral history transcripts are also available, as well as finding aids for manuscript collections.

These images show the Civil Rights movement through the lens of California news photographers. Photographs of leaders, supporters, and dissenters show that people far from the South were involved in this struggle.

These images show how a range of groups during the 1960s and 70s chose to voice their frustration with the status quo by staging protests and making their voices heard. Photographs also show the leaders of such groups as the United Farm Workers and the Black Panthers.

The images in this group depict the aftermath of the Watts Riots and the neighborhood's later efforts at renewal. Photographs taken over several years show the progression: police occupation, burned-out buildings, politicians, and a community looking toward a more hopeful future.

The BCRI is a large museum and research center in Birmingham, Alabama that depicts the struggles of the American Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and 1960s.The archives of the Institute serve as a national resource for educators and researchers. See also the Interactive Timeline of the Civil Rights Movement.