- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Elections & Voting
Elections & Voting
Election & voting statistics and sources for Texas and U.S.
Best Bets for Data
- Census.gov: Voting and RegistrationIn election years, the Current Population Survey collects data on reported voting and registration, and later reports stats by turnout, age, race and origin.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowSummarizes U.S. social, political and economic data in convenient tables from a wide variety of Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations.
Election data is in Section 7. - CQ Voting and Elections Collection This link opens in a new windowA database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowContains full-text nonpartisan weekly reports on U.S. Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995. Previously called CQ Weekly. Includes Floor Vote Search.
- African American Electorate: A Statistical HistoryE-book in Sage Knowledge and in print: JPL JK1924 .W36 2012
- Texas Secretary of State: Elections DivisionThe Secretary of State is the chief election officer for the State of Texas. Their website includes historical election results by county back to 1992. Turnout and Voter Registration 1970 to current.
Data, Research and Campaign Finance
- American National Election StudiesANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
- American Presidency ProjectComprehensive collection of online resources for the study of the U.S. presidency and elections including papers, speeches (audio and video), Executive Orders (1826-current), Proclamations (1789-current), party platforms, debates. From UC Santa Barbara.
- Harvard Election Data ArchiveThis archive contains data on election results, voting behavior, and electoral politics, with particular focus on the United States.
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchICPSR maintains a large data archive of data in the social sciences. Files include data sets and research on voting and elections.
- Joint Center for Political and Economic StudiesA 501(c)(3) non-profit organization based in Washington, D.C. that creates ideas to improve the socioeconomic status and civic engagement of African Americans.
- Open Secrets.org - Center for Responsive PoliticsResource for federal campaign contributions, lobbying data and analysis.
- Historical Electoral College ResultsPresidential Elections 1789-2020. Includes individual states. From National Archives.
- Mapping Early American ElectionsAn ongoing digital humanities project from the Ray Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University that aims to "offer a window into the formative era of American politics by producing interactive maps and visualizations of Congressional and state legislative elections from 1787 to 1825."
Presidential Power: Documents Decoded by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2016Uses primary documents as a portal for understanding the evolution and present parameters of presidential power, the relationship among America's three branches of government, and why wartime often leads presidents to claim expansive powers and authority..
Presidential Campaigns and Presidential Accountability by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2011Investigating Bush, and Obama campaigns and the first years of the subsequent presidential administrations, Claibourn builds a generalized theory of agenda accountability, showing how presidential action is constrained by campaign agendas.
