- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Geological, Earth, and Planetary Sciences
Geological, Earth, and Planetary Sciences
Scientific Writing
Scientific writing or science writing usually refers to research articles reporting original research in journals. Science writing also includes other kinds of writing such as review articles (which summarize and synthesize previous research articles on a specific topic), annotated bibliographies (which aid others in performing their research), abstracts or notes (which summarize experiments or studies), and grant proposals (which seek funding for research). The point of science writing is for a scientist to communicate with an audience of peers. Since the purpose is communication and not entertainment, scientific writing should be precise, clear and objective.
Here are some resources to help you write for academic science audiences:
- How to Write a Good Scientific Paper - by Chris A. Mack
Free PDF Download
ISBN 9781510619135
Publication Date: 2018
Writing for a peer-reviewed scientific or engineering journal requires learning and executing a specific formula for presenting scientific work. This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published
Writing Scientific Research Articles by Call Number: e-book (available to eligible UTSA users)ISBN: 9781118570661Publication Date: 2013 2nd editionThis book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximize their chances of publishing in international scientific journals.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor, Q180.55.M4 F56 2014ISBN: 9781452259499Publication Date: 2014Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fourth Edition features: setting standards for evaluating the quality of research and other literature; extracting and recording information from articles and studies; synthesizing what the reader finds either descriptively or via a meta-analysis; recording and storing the results in a virtual file cabinet; and how to use bibliographic software.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by ISBN: 9780313330278Publication Date: 2006To be useful, scientific research needs to be explained clearly to others to colleagues, to administrators, to foundations and governmental bodies, and to the public. This thoroughly revised edition of the classic "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" gives beginning scientists and experienced researchers alike practical advice on writing about their work and publishing what they write. The core of the book consists of a how-to guide to writing and publishing research articles for scientific journals, explaining every step of the process, from choosing a suitable journal for your work to presenting the results and citing references. "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" is the essential guide every scientist needs to achieve success in today's competitive environment. This revised edition of "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" provides such practical advice for anyone working in any scientific discipline who needs to communicate his or her work effectively to others."
Science Research Writing for Non-native Speakers of English by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor, PE1475 .G57 2010ISBN: 1848163096Publication Date: 2009This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English.
Managing Citations
CSE Style Guide
CSE style was developed by Council of Science Editors for use with all scientific research and is the most commonly used citation format in the science disciplines.
Scientific Style and Format by ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences.
Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
CSE Style Examples
Author, A, Author, BB, Author, CC. Year. Article title. Abbreviated journal title. Volume(issue):pages.
Example:
Greer, E, Blanco, M, Gu, L, Sendinc, E, Liu, J, Aristizabal-Corrales, D, Shi, Y. 2015. DNA methylation on N-6-adenine in C-elegans. Cell. 161(4): p. 868-878.
Author, A, Author, BB, Author CC. Title of Web Page. [Internet] Title of Web Site; [cited date]. Available from URL
Example:
Edgley, M. 2015. What is C elegans? [Internet] University of Minnesota; [cited 2018 Mar 6]. Available from https://cbs.umn.edu/cgc/what-c-elegans
Last, AA, Last B, Last CC. Year. Book Title. Edition. Place of publication: publisher. Number of Pages.
Example:
Olsen, A, Gill, MS. 2017. Ageing: Lessons from C. elegans. Cham: Springer International Publishing.433
Include the author's last name and publication year. For a direct quotation, include the page number.
APA Style Guide
APA Style was developed by the American Psychological Association for use in the social sciences but is frequently used by researchers from other scientific disciplines as well.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Publication Date: 2009The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication.
It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarize yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
APA Style - 7th edition
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page range. DOI's URL
Example:
Baider, L., Uziely, B., & Kaplan De-Nour, A. (1994). Progressive muscle relaxation and guided imagery in cancer patients. General Hospital Psychiatry, 16(5), 340–347. https://doi.org/10.1016/0163-8343(94)90021-3
NOTE:
List up to 20 authors by their last names followed by initials. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author.
Author (person or organization). (Year published or updated) Title of page. Website. https://xxxxx
*Substitute (n. d.). for the year if there is no known date of publication.
Example:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (2010). Facing down PTSD, vet is now soaring high. http://www.mentalhealth.va.gov/featureArticle_Feb.asp
Walker, A. (2019, November 14). Germany avoids recession but growth remains weak. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/business-50419127
Last, A. A., Last, B. B., & Last, C. C. (Year). Book title. Publisher.
*Substitute (n. d.). for the year if there is no known date of publication.
Example:
Achterberg, J. (1985). Imagery in healing. Shambhala Publications.
NOTE:
List up to 20 authors by their last names followed by initials. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author.
Include the author's last name and publication year:
Example:
Teaching techniques and reflecting on the group process are unique components of guided imagery received in a group context (Yalom & Leszcz, 2005).
Or you can introduce the citation like this:
Example:
For example, Ball et al. (2003) conducted guided imagery in a group psychotherapy format with 11 children ...
For a direct quotation, include the page number:
Example:
Guided imagery and relaxation techniques have even been found to “reduce distress and allow the immune system to function more effectively” (Trakhtenberg, 2008, p. 850).
For more information on in-text citing, consult this page: