Literature

This collection of primary sources documents African American life and culture from 1816-1922.  It comprises newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches from multiple religious denominations as well as educational and service institutions.

A large collection of full-text / full-image African American newspapers from all around the country. Covers the 19th and 20th centuries.

Digital collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Features digitized historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes historical articles, complete texts of historical books, political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, as well as Hispanic newspapers. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%). Drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.”

Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights from the 18th-20th century. A digital collection of manuscripts of both organizations and individuals, as well as books, and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%). Drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.”

A collection of hundreds of searchable full-text / full-image newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics during the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers may be in Spanish, English, or both Spanish and English. Based on Nicolás Kanellos' "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project."

A set of finding aids (indexes) for an extensive collection of 19th century books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. Search across all indexes in a single search or search them individually. Some of the indexes of note include Palmer's Index to the Times of London, Proceedings of the Old Bailey, the U.S. Serial Set, and a number of book catalogs and periodical indexes. A detailed description of each index is available. Limited full text.

Covers 1909-1972. Digitized primary source material from the NAACP. Content is organized into six modules documenting the NAACP's work on behalf of civil rights, including the fight for voting rights and campaigns against segregated education, discrimination and segregation in public places, residential discrimination, discrimination in the workplace and the armed forces, and the campaign against lynching, among others. Also included are the NAACP’s national organizational records and Legal Department files. Use Advanced Search for keyword searching or use the timeline to find records of significant events.

Includes over 100 types of primary sources covering the long nineteenth century. Materials represent resources from Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, Australia, the Middle East, and North America. Sourced from over 100 world libraries and archives.