MLA Handbook
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowContains the full MLA Handbook with information about how to fully format and provide citations in the MLA citation style. Currently the ninth edition.
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016In this latest edition of the handbook, MLA provides one universal set of guidelines that are applied to any type of source. The handbook also provides guidance in evaluating sources, shows how to cite sources, and teaches how to create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Background Information
Need some background information? Try these resources:
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFind detailed information on authors and works. Try using the included references to find additional sources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowBibliographies for American Literature and Literary/Critical Theory.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Oxford companion series and overviews of time periods, as well as theory.
- Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch by your author's name to find criticism, biographical information, and an introduction to the author's works.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe place to go for background on authors, plot summaries, and overviews.
- MasterplotsA source for full-text essays containing critical analyses of literature, character studies, biographies and plot summaries. This resource is a part of the larger Literature Reference Center which also contains MagillsOnLiterature, Critical Surveys, and more.
Print Reference
The UTSA Libraries interfile reference materials with the print collection. Use Print Catalog and then limit to "reference" to find these resources. Here are a few of our new encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers by ISBN: 9780313334290Publication Date: 2007Call Number: PS153.N5 E49 2007
Reference
Trying to find a poem, story, or play? These resources can help you find what you need:
- Index TranslationumA resource from UNESCO indexing literature translations around the world.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic.
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAn introduction to historical and contemporary criticism for a variety of works.
- Short Story Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexing for thousands of short stories, as well as full-text for over 5,000 short stories.
- Play Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAn index of plays, monologues, one-acts and more, along with descriptive annotation.
- Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers many essays, chapters and anthologies.
- Oxford English Dictionary - OED (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for etymological studies containing the meaning, history, and derivation of over half a million words in the English language.
- Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new windowDictionary of 60,000 entries, audio recordings, interactive maps, and survey data focusing on the regional language of the United States.
Featured Resource
Want to search the history of a word? The Oxford English Dictionary is an amazing resource. Try it below: