Texas Challenged Books

In late 2021, Texas gained national attention for efforts at the state and local level to investigate what books were held in libraries' collections. This guide explores the context of what happened, resources on the topic, and how one can participate.

But What If I'm Being Challenged?

If you are currently being challenged, you are not alone, not by a long shot. The following links provide you with some reputable sources to bolster your case.

ACLU and Banned Books
The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) "is our nation's guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country."

This particular page focuses specifically on banned books.
Book Censorship Tool Kit
Created by the National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC), this kit contains a "collection of materials on the topic of censorship in schools for the use of students, educators, and parents everywhere."
ALA Challenges to Library Materials
This page contains contact information for people within the ALA who can support you. It also contains clarifying information so that everyone can be on the same page.
Comic Book Legal Defense Fund BBW Handbook
The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund (CBLDF) has a free handbook that "that gives you the scoop about what comics are banned, how to report and fight censorship, and how to make a celebration of Banned Books Week in your community!"
How to Respond to Challenges and Concerns about Library Resources
This ALA web page provides information about complaint procedures and their implementation so that the library staff and the governing authorities can handle complaints in a respectful and fair manner.
LGBTQ Right to Read Resource
This resource specifically concerns the issue of LGBTQ-themed books and why these books need be shelved, not banned.
Library Bill of Rights
"The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas, and that the following basic policies should guide their services." Article III specifically focuses on the censoring of materials.
National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC)
"The National Coalition Against Censorship, an alliance of fifty-two participating organizations, is dedicated to protecting free expression and access to information." This page lists the participating organizations that could offer support.
NCTE Intellectual Freedom Center
The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) "offers advice, helpful documents, and other support to teachers faced with challenges to texts (e.g. literary works, films and videos, drama productions) or teaching methods used in their classrooms and schools. "
Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF)
"The Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) is charged with implementing ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights, the Association’s basic policy on free access to libraries and library materials." The OIF is an excellent place for support and resources concerning challenges and bans.
OIF Blog
The Office for Intellectual Freedom also maintains a blog on a variety of topics relating to intellectual freedom that you might want to follow.