Oral History Collections
Encompassing more than 1,000 interviews, the oral history collections document the culture and heritage of diverse groups, populations, and events in our community. Spanning over five decades, these important and unique primary sources preserve and make accessible the recollections and remembrances of individuals and organizations that influenced the social, political, and cultural landscape of San Antonio, Texas, and elsewhere.
Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection
- University of Texas at San Antonio: Institute of Texan Cultures: Oral History CollectionThe Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection originated from a regional meeting of the Texas Historical Commission held in Bandera, TX in 1973 calling for the creation of an oral history program to document the history of San Antonio and Bexar County.
Archives for Research on Women and Gender
- Archives for Research on Women and Gender Oral History ProjectIn 1997 the Center for the Study of Women and Gender (CSWG) and the Archives for Research on Women and Gender (ARWG) initiated an oral history project to go along with that year's Women's History Week then, which was "Telling Our Stories/Contando Nuestras Historias." Utilizing an advisory board , the CSWG and ARWG chose a select number of San Antonio women who have made significant contributions to the community.
College of Liberal and Fine Arts
- College of Liberal and Fine Arts Oral History Program CollectionThe College of Liberal and Fine Arts Oral History Program provides an opportunity for select students to conduct original oral history research.
Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies
- Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies Oral History CollectionThe University of Texas at San Antonio Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies is part of the College of Education and Human Development. These oral histories were conducted in the Spring 2009 semester of the Mexican American Culture course taught by Dr. Marie Miranda. The collection consists of correspondence, release forms, oral history recordings on audiocassette, and interview transcripts.
General Oral History Collection
- General Oral History CollectionThis is the general oral history collection of University of Texas at San Antonio Libraries Special Collections. The collection consists of correspondence, release forms, oral history recordings on audiocassette and interview transcripts.
The Veterans History Project
- Veteran’s History ProjectThe oral histories in this collection were all completed as class projects in various courses taught by Jerri D. Mitchell, UTSA Department of History, and comply with the standards of the Library of Congress, American Folklife Center's Veterans History Project.