- Find Information
- Research Guides
- African American Studies
African American Studies
Explore highlights from the UTSA Library collections supporting African American Studies:
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowContains major full-text reference resources on African American and African history and culture, including "Encyclopedia of African American History"; and the "African American National Biography", as well as articles from other major reference sources.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary source material concerning the African American civil rights struggle in two modules: Federal Government Records and Organizational Records and Personal Papers.
- Music Online: African American Music Reference (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Includes comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- Black Male Education Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Black Male Education Research Collection provides a comprehensive collection of scholarly articles for academics, mentors, and anyone in search of literature on this topic. The focus extends from kindergarten through higher education and includes everything from mentoring, psychological health, and sports/athletics. This collection of research is composed primarily of peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Black Studies (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains documentaries, interviews and archival video footage covering the black experience. Subjects include history, politics, art, culture, family structure, gender relationships and economic issues. Also included: SNCC Legacy Video Collection, over fifty hours of formal addresses, panel discussions, and programs commemorating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.