- Find Information
- Research Guides
- HIS 4603/4973 / HON 3233: Human Rights since 1948 (Nolan-Ferrell)
HIS 4603/4973 / HON 3233: Human Rights since 1948 (Nolan-Ferrell)
by Shari Salisbury Last Updated Jun 2, 2023 104 views this year
Black Lives Matter
by Diane López Last Updated Jun 2, 2023 410 views this year
Civil Rights in Texas
by Shari Salisbury Last Updated May 8, 2023 521 views this year
Emigration, Immigration & Migration
by Shari Salisbury Last Updated Jun 2, 2023 1360 views this year
Latin American Studies
by Shari Salisbury Last Updated Jun 2, 2023 53 views this year
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resources
by Moira Mackay Last Updated Apr 13, 2023 209 views this year
Texas State Government
by Rita Wilson Last Updated May 7, 2023 1043 views this year
by Shari Salisbury Last Updated Apr 13, 2023 849 views this year
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Subjects: Art & Art History, History, Languages, Modern, Newspapers
Finding Secondary Sources
Library Quick SearcheBooks
- Google ScholarSearches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How to Use Google Scholar Off CampusDue to recent changes made by Google, you'll need to do a one-time set-up for your account to access full-text articles available through UTSA Libraries. Step by step instructions provided.
- DatabasesDiscover important resources for your discipline. Organized alphabetically and by discipline.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
Finding Primary Sources
Two Important Points to Remember
- One of the BEST places to find primary sources is in the footnotes, endnotes, or bibliography of a good secondary source!
- The best primary source database for you will depend on your topic! In addition to the databases listed below, be sure to consult database recommendations on the other guides.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowDNSA contains a wealth of significant primary documents relating to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945 obtained through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Divided into 53 collections on Cuba, Mexico, South and Central America, Afghanistan, the former Soviet Union, South Africa, Iran, China, Korea, Vietnam, Philippines and other areas. Documents include memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, and confidential letters. Also see National Security Archive.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current.
- Hein Online: Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new windowContaining publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text/full-image of seven major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2018), Washington Post (1877-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2008), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), the Guardian (1821-2003) Observer (1791-2003), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), and the Chicago Defender (1909-2010). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.
- UTSA Libraries Digital CollectionsDigitized materials from UTSA Special Collections and the Institute of Texan Cultures.
- Oral History CollectionA collection of more than 1000 oral histories from the holdings of UTSA Libraries Special Collections. The bulk of the interviews in this collection are part of the Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection. The Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection contains 939 interviews conducted since 1967 and document a broad range of activities related to life in Texas.
- San Antonio Black History CollectionThe San Antonio Black History Collection was brought together by Lewis Fisher while conducting research on San Antonio history. The collection is made up of printed materials that reflect African-American life in San Antonio in the 20th century. San Antonio funeral homes, schools, and churches are the major subjects in this material. The collection has been arranged into the following categories: businesses, churches, clubs and organizations, education, history, military, newspapers and magazines, and photographs. A key holding is Snap, a weekly local publication that covered San Antonio politics, social events, and current events from an African-American perspective.
- HOLC Redlining Maps of San AntonioThe Home Owners’ Loan Corporation (HOLC) was established in 1933 as a federal government-sponsored program. San Antonio was one of the cities for which "residential security maps" were created. Red color coding on these maps often outlined neighborhoods in the older sections of cities, where homeowners and tenants had lower incomes, or in neighborhoods that were made up of ethnic or racial minorities.
- C.O.P.S./Metro Alliance RecordsCommunities Organized for Public Service (COPS) is an organization of 26 parishes in the predominantly Hispanic, low-income West Side and South Side of San Antonio. Founded in 1974, it is the oldest of the Interfaith Area Foundation (IAF) organizations in Texas and, indeed, in the entire national network. The Metro Alliance, which shares office space and many resources with C.O.P.S., formed in 1989 through a merger of the East Side Alliance, composed of African American and Hispanic low- and lower-middle income churches, and the Metropolitan Congregational Alliance.
- El PuebloIndependent, community-based newspaper published by a team of volunteers and distributed in the economically poor sectors of San Antonio, Texas. The newspaper's mission was to publish news and analysis relevant to working families. 1979-1982.