This is the "Journal Rankings" page of the "Journal Rankings / Cited References / Publishing Opportunities in Business and Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Journal Rankings / Cited References / Publishing Opportunities in Business and Economics   Tags: cited references, journal rankings  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/journalrankings Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Journal Rankings Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Ø Q1. How do I find top journals in my field?

Ø Q2. Why is this journal not in the Web of Science?

Ø Q3. What is Cabell's ranking for this journal?

Business Journal Rankings

 

Articles on Journal Rankings

This RSS feed comes from EBSCO databases Business Source Complete, EconLit, Academic Search Complete.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Getting Started: FAQ Answers

Ø A1. Journal rankings are based on bibliometrics, which is a set of quantitative methods (1) to measure patterns of scientific publication and citation and (2) to assess the impact of research.  A list of top journals will differ depending on citation tools, metrics chosen for analysis and how broadly a field is defined, for example human resource management vs. management in general. Journal rankings  may change from year to year.

The standard source for journal rankings in North America is the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) from the ISI Web of Knowledge by Thomson Reuters.  

Lists of top journals in specific fields may also be found in academic journal articles (featured on the left) or by searching in subject databases and Google Scholar.

Anne-Wil Harzing's site offers additional information on business journal rankings. Her article When Knowledge Wins: Transcending the Sense and Nonsense of Academic Rankings provides an overview of issues in journal rankings and their effect on scholarship. Additional perspectives may be found in Deep Impact: Unintended Consequences of Journal Rank.

Ø A2.  The Web of Science covers a selected list of journals. Please contact Thomson Reuters if you are interested in submitting your journal of interest for their consideration.

Ø A3.  Since 2014 the Cabell's Directory provides three new ranking systems including Cabell's Classification Index to determine the influence of a journal; Cabell's Difficulty of Acceptance Index, and Cabell's Institutional Publishing Activity Index.

Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) via Web of Science

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) includes Social Science Citation Reports and Science Citation Reports online since 2003. JCR and the Web of Science are part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, a product of Thomson Reuters. When researching literature on journal rankings, you may find references under all of these terms. JCR is published annually in June in two editions, JCR Science Edition (5900+ journals) and JCR Social Sciences Edition (1700+ journals).

JCR Training

Citation Metrics

 

Scope Notes for Selected JCR Journals

Business and economics journals in JCR are broadly grouped in the following categories: 

Business
All aspects of business and the business world, such as marketing and advertising, forecasting, planning, administration, organizational studies, compensation, strategy, retailing, consumer research, and management; also business history and business ethics.  

Business, Finance
Financial and economic correlations, accounting, financial management, investment strategies, the international monetary system, insurance, taxation, and banking.

Economics
All aspects, both theoretical and applied, of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services such as political economy, agricultural economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, econometrics, trade, and planning.

Industrial Relations & Labor
Arbitration, business and labor law, human resources, labor history, labor relations, and the sociology of work relations.

Management
Management science, organization studies, strategic planning and decision-making methods, leadership studies, and total quality management.

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Natasha Arguello
Contact Info
UTSA Libraries
JPL 4.04.08V
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210.458.7444
Send Email

Other Sources for Journal Rankings

Please note that the UTSA Libraries do not subscribe to Scopus at this time.

  • SCImago Journal & County Rank
    A portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators based on the Scopus® database by Elsevier.
  • Eigenfactor: Ranking and Mapping Scientific Knowledge
    This resource ranks journals and shows their influence in particular subject areas along with visualizations of various data points. Based on data from Thomson's Journal Citation Reports.
  • Financial Times 45 Journals
    Publications in these 45 academic and practitioner journals are used for calculating a research rank for FT MBA and EMBA rankings. Points are awarded to the business school at which the author is currently employed. The total is then weighted for faculty size. 2012 list.
  • AIS Senior Scholars' Basket of Journals
    Also known as "Basket of Eight," this is a list of top journals in IS recommended by the Senior Scholars Consortium from the Association for Information Systems.

School Rankings by Publication

More about Bibliometrics

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip