Zines provide a way for anyone to express themselves and to share ideas. They demonstrate self-publishing at the most accessible level, introducing voices that may not have access to traditional publishing channels. SAPL’s zine collection is available for public use at Central Library and showcases materials written by, about and for our community. A zine (pronounced ZEEN) is an independently published booklet. SAPL's non-circulation zine collection is located on Central Library's Second Floor, in the Marie Schwartz Art Resource Center.
The Zine Collection is an artificial collection assembled by The University of Texas at San Antonio Libraries Special Collections (UTSA Special Collections). Zines in the collection were created by a variety of members of the public and subsequently donated to or purchased by UTSA Special Collections. The collection consists of over 250 zines created between 2002 and 2018. The majority of zines originate from San Antonio and other locations in Texas. A notable amount of zines from Portland, Oregon; Chicago, and California are also present. The zines are personal zines, fan zines, and art zines which address topics such as politics, social justice, gender, the LGBTQ community, the Latinx/o/a community, feminism, gardening, DIY culture, and music. The zines generally contain written narratives, poetry, drawings, photographs, comics, and artwork. Each zine listed in the collection inventory includes the title and issue number, a brief list of subjects associated with the zine, the original author name, and location and date of creation (if known).
Independent media library focusing on zines and DIY culture. Membership is free and members are allowed to check out zines or hang out during library hours to browse through the collection, read, or work on their own zines.
Zines created by Texans, Southwesterners or other Southerners and/or concern Texas, the Southwest and the South; zines created by minorities across Texas, the Southwest or the South; zines created by TAMU students or former students; and Artzines concerned with printing and/or designed as print art objects.
Collection of zines written by women (cis- and transgender) with an emphasis on zines by women of color. Zines on feminism and femme identity by people of all genders. The zines are personal and political publications on activism, anarchism, body image, third wave feminism, gender, parenting, queer community, riot grrrl, sexual assault, trans experience, and other topics.
Collection of zines created by women, girls, and women-identified people begun by Sarah Dyer with over 1,000 zines. Dyer collected zines for her Action Girl Newsletter, a networking publication for women’s comics and zines. The collection has expanded to over 4,000 zines, with a majority dating from 1990-2005. Around 2,600 of these are recorded in this searchable database.
Ernesto Chávez Álvarez (b. 1942) is a Cuban writer and scholar who worked as a rural teacher during the early years of revolutionary regime. This collection documents events and subversive movements in Cuba, Chávez's own experience as a voluntary and rural teacher, and research he conducted on the Cuban War of Independence. It also includes collections created by his friends which shed light on life in Cuba during the twentieth century. Significant items in this collection include a rare collection of zines and periodicals, and photographs depicting various social and political scenes.
Housed in the DeWitt Wallace Periodical Room at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building with current periodicals and requested in Room 100. Search by title or these subjects: zines, fanzines, underground press and little magazines. The site lists some of the titles in the Collection
Launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
Special Collections at the University of Iowa is making a concerted effort to collect zines in all formats in order to preserve these materials and make them accessible to wider popular and research audiences. Zines are windows that provide glimpses into fascinating and often-under documented social worlds, worlds that we believe deserve to have their voices rescued from obscurity.