SOC 5063: Research Design (Denton)

A guide for Melinda Denton's Fall 2021 course.

Key Resources

Journal Articles

Sociology researchers rely heavily on journal articles. Library Quick Search is a great place to find these: use search terms related to your topic and limit to journal articles under 'Content Type' and 'Sociology' under discipline.

Google Scholar is a great tool for finding journal articles and books in sociology. Its strengths are search alerts and the interlinking of sources through citations.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
This World Health Organization abstract database focuses on developing regions. Search results can be limited to six regions (the Americas, Europe, Western Pacific, Southeast Asia, Africa, and the Eastern Mediterranean). Many abstracts link to PubMed Linkout .
Global Library of Women's Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on current clinical practices and therapeutic options in women's medicine. The site was developed from the six-volume, encyclopedic textbook Gynecology & Obstetrics first published in 1934.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, many in full text. Also includes full-text books, monographs, and conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in the early 1880s, but most coverage begins in the late 1990s.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, indexing and abstracting thousands of titles including journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Sociology: A Sage Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals published by Sage on topics in sociology, including contemporary and comparative sociology, consumer culture, childhood, classical sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, labor studies, and social theory.