- Find Information
- Research Guides
- SOC 4073: Social & Behav Theory Pub Hlth (Wallace)
SOC 4073: Social & Behav Theory Pub Hlth (Wallace)
Your Librarian
Action Research: Resources
The Action Research Planner by ISBN: 9789814560665Publication Date: 2013-11-27A fully-updated and reworked version of the classic book by Stephen Kemmis and Robin McTaggart, now joined by Rhonda Nixon, The Action Research Planner is a detailed guide to developing and conducting a critical participatory action research project. The authors outline new views on 'participation' (based on Jürgen Habermas's notion of a 'public sphere'), 'practice' (as shaped by practice architectures), and 'research' (as research within practice traditions). They provide five extended examples of critical participatory action research studies. The book includes a range of resources for people planning a critical participatory research initiative, providing guidance on how to establish an action research group and identify a shared concern, research ethics, principles of procedure for action researchers, protocols for collaborative work, keeping a journal, gathering evidence, reporting, and choosing academic partners.
The SAGE Handbook of Action Research by ISBN: 9781446294543Publication Date: 2015-07-24The third edition of The SAGE Handbook of Action Research presents an updated version of the bestselling text, including new chapters covering emerging areas in healthcare, social work, education and international development, as well as an expanded 'skills' section which includes new consultant-relevant materials. Building on the strength of the previous landmark editions, Hilary Bradbury has carefully developed this edition to ensure it follows in their footsteps by mapping the current state of the discipline, as well as looking to the future of the field and exploring the issues at the cutting edge of the action research paradigm today. This volume is an essential resource for scholars and professionals engaged in social and political inquiry, healthcare, international development, new media, organizational research and education.
Public Health Research Methods by ISBN: 9781452241333Publication Date: 2014-03-03Public Health Research Methods is a comprehensive collection of research methods used in the field of public health. This text is about providing researchers, and future researchers, with an up-to-date and comprehensive set of tools to investigate public health issues and problems, to ultimately better inform public health policy and practice. The contents of this book go beyond traditional epidemiologic approaches and cover the various research methods and technologies that are emerging in the new public health landscape.
- Hughes, I. (2008). Action research in healthcare. In Reason, P., & Bradbury, H. The SAGE handbook of action research (pp. 381-393). : SAGE Publications Ltd doi: 10.4135/9781848607934This chapter provides specific recommendations for how to do good action research in the context of healthcare. It links to other appropriate AR practices as well as offering guidelines for intervention in diverse settings and questions for developing quality.
- Transforming Practices: A Primer on Action Research
Action research (AR) is a powerful tool for health education and promotion practitioners who want to focus on improving the quality of their programs and services. In this Tool, we describe the characteristics and controversial aspects of AR, differentiate between traditional and action research, present the benefits of applying AR methods/techniques for investigating problems related to professional practice, and offer a four-phase methodological framework for conducting AR studies. Unlike traditional research, AR is a methodology that links theory, research, and practice; advances new knowledge and understandings via iterative action cycles; employs frontline health practitioners as researchers; and promotes collaborative practitioner–community partnerships. Egalitarian in its approach, AR offers an “insider’s perspective” centered on context-specific problems and issues related to health promotion. AR falls into two categories: large-scale community-based research and small-scale practice-based research. Each cycle of the AR framework includes four phases: (a) preplanning/needs assessment, (b) planning/study organization, (c) action and observation/study implementation, and (d) reflection and planning/data analysis and interpretation. Using the AR primer in this Tool has the potential to empower health education/promotion practitioners, encourage collaborative partnerships, enhance practitioners’ knowledge base, and promote social change.
Community-based participatory research
Community-based intervention
Community Research
Action Research
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations from over 4,800 journals published in the United States and seventy other countries. Encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources in allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations from over 4,800 journals published in the United States and seventy other countries. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources in allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts thousands of journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, many in full text. Also includes full-text books, monographs, and conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in the early 1880s, but most coverage begins in the late 1990s.
- Human Nutrition Research Information Management This link opens in a new window
The Human Nutrition Research and Information Management (HNRIM) system database provides information on human nutrition research and research training activities supported in whole or in part by the Federal Government. Each participating agency assembles and submits its own data, which are then combined into the main HNRIM system database. The database contains several thousand projects for fiscal years 1985–present.
