- Find Information
- Research Guides
- POL 4973: Latin America in the World (Sotomayor)
POL 4973: Latin America in the World (Sotomayor)
Guide for Arturo Sotomayor's class.
- Organization of American States
- OAS & Foreign Policy
- Country Reports & Stats
- Journal Articles
Bello Monte, Caracas, Venezuela.
By Guillermo Ramos Flamerich (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html),
or CC BY 2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons
Country Profiles - Free Online
- CIA World FactBook Country ProfilesCIA reports on the history, geography, people, government and economy of individual countries. Prepared by the CIA for the use of U.S. Government officials.
- World Book CountriesBrowse world development indicators, economic forecasts, projects, maps, finances, and surveys.
- BBC News Country ProfilesAudio of national anthem, historical timeline, country profile, flag, links to new stories and other sites, weather, presidential bio, more.
- Economist Intelligence UnitProvides access to select EIU publications, including Country Finance, a guide to financial conditions, techniques, and regulations in 45 countries, and Country Commerce, a guide to operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations in 55 countries. Also included are Country Reports for Mexico, Singapore, and Taiwan, as well as Country Risk Analysis, Country Forecast, and Country Profile services for Mexico only.
Country Profiles - UTSA Subscription
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series. Includes economic, political, and geographic background information, as well as statistical data and analysis by country. Directory information is provided for governmental, society, media, business enterprise, and international organizations. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
Country Statistics - UTSA Subscription
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowCan search separately: BBC Monitoring International Reports; Business Monitor News; Global Insight; BMI Country Risk Report; Political Risk Service.
- International Programs DataFind demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
- Balance of Payments Statistics (IMF) This link opens in a new windowBalance of Payment Statistics (BOP) includes over 100,000 quarterly and annual time series data on total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world; capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities; tables featuring area and world totals of balance of payments components and aggregates.
- International Financial StatisticsIncludes international and domestic finance statistics produced by the International Monetary Fund for over 200 countries. View time series data at the country level and the world level, including data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- Government Finance StatisticsGovernment Finance Statistics (GFS) includes data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries such as revenue, expenses, transactions in nonfinancial assets and financial assets and liabilities.
- Direction of Trade StatisticsDirection of Trade Statistics (DOT) contains data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners.
Country Statistics - Free Online
- IMF eLibraryIMF statistical books, periodicals, working papers, and studies.
- IMF eLibrary DataSearch for datasets, data presentations, time series, and find other documents.
- International DatabaseThe International Data Base (IDB) currently covers 228 countries and areas with current populations of 5,000 or more. Where reference is made to "countries" in discussing the IDB the term should be taken to mean "countries and areas."
- International Statistical AgenciesU. S. Census site with links to websites of statistical agencies residing in countries.
- Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the CaribbeanCompilation of economic and socioeconomic data for each country in the Caribbean from the UN Economic Commission of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- World DataBankDataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
- World Economic Outlook DatabasesTime series from the International Monetary Fund for GDP, growth, inflation, unemployment, payment balances, exports, imports, external debts, capital flows, commodity reports, etc.
- World Trade Organization OnlineProvides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues, including trade and tariff data.
- UNdataData access system to UN Databases. Browse and search databases on crime, education, energy, environment, finance, food, gender, health, human development and much more. Also, includes indicator databases and population data as well as trade data.