International Marketing & Management

This guide links to databases with country profiles and provides information on business cultures around the world

Key Resources

globalEdge
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Create an account to access additional content. Includes video collections and tutorials "How to Do Business in..."
Country Commercial Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies
worldwide. Part of International Trade Administration portal.
International Trade Administration
The U.S. Government portal to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies.

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Focus on consumer goods and services. Provides access to market research data, country reports, company profiles, and statistics on countries, consumers, and industries for over 350 markets and 205 countries. Demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide, as well as several years of historic market size data for many consumer products in multiple countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Consumer lifestyles, companies and brands. Formerly known as GMID (Global Market Information Database).
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Replaced MarketLine. A powerful platform to explore, analyze, and compare companies, industries, and countries. Over 900,000 public and private companies worldwide across 22 sectors and 120+ subsectors from 200+ countries. Reports include case studies, profiles for companies and industries, SWOT and Five Forces analyses, analyst opinions, value and supply chain reports, macroeconomic data, and more. Additional databases include market analyzers, company filings analytics, social media analytics, deals, city profiles and city economics, global ads from leading brands, product innovation, job analytics, and news. Tools, such as the company screening tool, competitive intelligence tool, analytics hub, and others, enable deeper insights.

Diagnostic Tools
Developed by Michigan State University. Requires a free registration.
Explore Importing and Exporting
USA.gov provides a suite of tools for setting up an exporting business.
TradePort
A repository of free information and resources for businesses seeking to conduct international trade to and from California.
Are You Ready to Export?
Canadian government resources.

Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Interactive language learning software. Includes vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, language and culture blogs, online social communities, and video-based grammar lessons. Basic to intermediate level. More than 100 languages offered, including ESL.
Users MUST first create an account in the web version in order to use this online tool and track learning progress. Access is available on or off campus AFTER creating an account. For mobile apps, use the web version of Transparent Language and click on “Mobile Access” in the menu for the most recent version. To activate the app, scan the QR code found on the "Mobile Access" page or use your username and password.