Collection of large-scale, building-level maps, depict the commercial, industrial and residential sections of some 12,000 cities and towns in the U.S., Canada and Mexico, 1867 - present. The Sanborn collection includes about 50,000 editions of fire insurance maps comprising an estimated 700,000 individual sheets. Also see Checklist of all print and electronic Sanborn Maps.
Provides access to over 660,000 full-image fire insurance maps for more than 12,000 American communities in all U.S. states. These large-scale maps contain detailed data such as the outline of each building; the size, shape, and function of structures; construction materials; heights; and the location of windows and doors. The maps also list street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Also shown are pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban studies specialists, historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, planners, and environmentalists, among others.
The Home Owners’ Loan Corporation (HOLC) was established in 1933 as a federal government-sponsored program. San Antonio was one of the cities for which "residential security maps" were created. Red color coding on these maps often outlined neighborhoods in the older sections of cities, where homeowners and tenants had lower incomes, or in neighborhoods that were made up of ethnic or racial minorities.
This site juxtaposes maps from the 1930s with contemporary health disparities to illustrate the long-lasting impact of racial segregation and redlining in shaping the enduring contours of marked inequality. Compares HOLC redlining maps from the1930s with maps showing the Center for Disease Control's Social Vulnerability Index (SVI) scores for census tracts of 200 cities today. A collaboration between the University of Richmond's Digital Scholarship Lab and the National Community Reinvestment Coalition.
A collection of digital Texas city views from the Amon Carter Museum, along with a number of additional Texas views from private lenders and outside institutions. Includes 59 Texas views, documenting 44 different cities. Each view is accompanied by a brief essay, pertinent links, and supporting illustrations. Those cities for which there are multiple views receive more in-depth information and interpretation.
Large database of United States historic aerial maps. Search for any parcel of U.S. land and toggle through available years going back to 1955. Offers atlas, topographical, and aerial views. Free version as well as premium versions.
Contains interactive maps on various topics incorporating data from the 19th - 21st centuries. Includes maps about urban renewal, redlining, forced migration of enslaved people, overland trails, foreign-born population, and more.
This digital edition of the 1932 Atlas by Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright reproduces all of the atlas's nearly 700 maps. Many of the maps are enhanced in ways impossible in print, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data.
Digitized maps from Baylor University concerning the Civil War. The maps come from the Atlas to Accompany the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, published in 1895. Searchable by keywords, including military personnel, city, state, and geographic features.
The documents comprising the Relaciones Geográficas are original responses to a questionnaire initiated by the Spanish Crown in 1577, requesting information about Spanish held territories in the Americas. The documents include textual information and colorful maps (pinturas). From the University of Texas at Austin.
The Luso-Hispanic World embraces countries and regions of the world ruled by Spain and Portugal at the zenith of their power. The collection includes cartographic objects depicting portions of five continents prepared by cartographers from Spain, Portugal, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, various countries of Latin America, and the United States, among others, from the mid-16th century to 1900.
The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa.
This page provides access to scans of some of the 19th-century maps of the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia. Most of these maps were published in Western Europe, and nearly all the others were published in Russia or in the United States. The maps are products of--or were designed to support--the major European and Russian activities in the region: exploration, scientific research, resource exploitation, conquest, and administration.
The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States with over 500,000 items. About 2,700 maps from the collection have been digitized. Visit this site to find maps of the Revolutionary War, London, Massachusetts towns, and other "treasures."
More than 5,000 maps representing many different time periods. Their user friendly license allows teachers and students to use up to 25 maps in non-commercial educational projects without further permission. You may need to right click and save the file in order to get it to open.