GLA 3213: Theories of International Relations (Mathur)

An international journal, published quarterly, that features cutting-edge theory-driven empirical research at the intersection of politics and communication. Its expansive subject is the site of rapid changes and pressing policy concerns worldwide

The journal of the Carnegie Council, is to help close the gap between theory and practice (and between theorists and practitioners) by publishing original essays that integrate rigorous thinking about principles of justice and morality into discussions of practical dilemmas related to current policy developments, global institutional arrangements, and the conduct of important international actors.

An agenda-setting journal that publishes the highest quality scholarship on gender and politics and on women and politics. It aims to represent the full range of questions, issues, and approaches on gender and women across the major subfields of political science, including comparative politics, international relations, political theory, and U.S. politics. The Editor welcomes studies that address fundamental questions in politics and political science from the perspective of gender difference, as well as those that interrogate and challenge standard analytical categories and conventional methodologies.

The journal is produced and edited by students of Columbia Law School and is "dedicated to the analysis and discussion of human rights and civil liberties under both domestic and international law." In 2016, the journal launched HRLR Online, an online publication featuring shorter, cutting-edge pieces focusing on human ...

Provides information on important developments within the United Nations, and governmental and non-governmental regional human rights organizations. The journal highlights current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. By providing decision makers with insight into complex human rights issues, the Quarterly helps to define national and international human rights policy.

A peer-reviewed journal published by the International Committee of the Red Cross and Cambridge University Press. It promotes reflection on humanitarian law, policy and action in armed conflict and other situations of collective armed violence. A specialized journal in humanitarian law, it endeavours to promote knowledge, critical analysis and development of the law and contribute to the prevention of violations of rules protecting fundamental rights and values.

An exciting, new open access journal hosted jointly by The Humanitarian Affairs Team at Save the Children UK, and Centre de Réflexion sur l’Action et les Savoirs Humanitaires MSF (Paris) and the Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute at the University of Manchester. It will contribute to current thinking around humanitarian governance, policy and practice with academic rigour and political courage. The journal will challenge contributors and readers to think critically about humanitarian issues that are often approached from reductionist assumptions about what experience and evidence mean. It will cover contemporary, historical, methodological and applied subject matters and will bring together studies, debates and literature reviews. The journal will engage with these through diverse online content, including peer reviewed articles, expert interviews, policy analyses, literature reviews and ‘spotlight’ features.

The peer-reviewed flagship journal of the Standing Group on International Relations (SGIR) of the European Consortium for Political Research. A joint committee of the SGIR and the European International Studies Association is responsible for the management and success of the journal. In keeping with the wide range of scholarly interests represented by the SGIR membership, the journal is broadly representative of the field of International Relations as it has evolved in Europe (see Aims and Scope). Since the establishment of the journal in 1995, the EJIR has become a major and independent voice in International Relations scholarship. Building on its European origins, it has developed over more than two decades to epitomize cutting edge theoretical debates and theoretically-informed empirical analysis that reflects the best of the global International Relations community.

Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.

Provides an open forum for research publication that enhances the communication of concepts and ideas across theoretical, methodological, geographical and disciplinary boundaries. By emphasizing accessibility of content for scholars of all perspectives and approaches in the editorial and review process, Foreign Policy Analysis serves as a source for efforts at theoretical and methodological integration and deepening the conceptual debates throughout this rich and complex academic research tradition.

International Affairs is one of the world's leading journals of international relations and one of the few to cover the entire discipline. Founded by and edited at Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs in London, it has been in existence for over 90 years and has become renowned for its academically rigorous, practitioner-focused scholarship.

A leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs. Subject areas include: foreign policies, international relations, international and comparative political economy, security policies, environmental disputes and resolutions, European integration, alliance patterns and war, bargaining and conflict resolution, economic development and adjustment, and international capital movements.

One of seven journals supported by the International Studies Association. It responds to the need for more productive collaboration among sociologists, international relations specialists and sociopolitical theorists. IPS offers a meeting place for scholars from all over the world, and strongly encourages transdisciplinary and critical analyses of contemporary global phenomena.

A trail-blazing, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to exploring transnational issues and global problems. Espousing no specific political or methodological stance, the journal welcomes appropriate contributions that communicate findings and provoke deeper dialogue. Among topics discussed in the journal are the relationship of Putin and the West; China’s chances to prosper peacefully; the concept of just war; prospects for Cuba today and post-Castro; and the possibility that American is in decline. Coverage extends to such topics as image politics in Germany; international human rights; nuclear power in Japan and more.

International Studies Quarterly (ISQ) is the flagship journal of the International Studies Association. It seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies. More detailed information about the journal's guidelines and policies is available here.

A journal of the International Studies Association. It provides a window on current trends and research in international studies worldwide. Published four times a year, ISR is intended to help (a) scholars engage in the kind of dialogue and debate that will shape the field of international studies in the future; (b) graduate and undergraduate students understand major issues in international studies and identify promising opportunities for research; and (c) educators keep up with new ideas and research.

a peer-reviewed and highly ranked international journal that aims to publish critical, theoretical, and boundary-pushing articles from the discipline of International Relations (IR), as well as original thinking from elsewhere in the social sciences with a global dimension. We welcome challenging and innovative contributions that articulate alternative theoretical perspectives and that explore subject areas with which IR has had little or no serious engagement.

One of the oldest peer-reviewed journals in international conflict and security, Contemporary Security Policy promotes theoretically-based research on policy problems of armed conflict, intervention and conflict resolution. Since it first appeared in 1980, CSP has established its unique place as a meeting ground for research at the nexus of theory and policy.

Publishes lucid, well-documented essays on all aspects of the control and use of force, from all political viewpoints. Its articles cover contemporary policy issues, and probe historical and theoretical questions behind them. Essays in International Security have defined the debate on American national security policy and have set the agenda for scholarship on international security affairs.

A fully peer-reviewed and highly ranked international bi-monthly journal that seeks to combine contemporary theoretical analysis with challenges to public policy across a wide ranging field of security studies. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

The Asia-Pacific Journal on Human Rights and the Law is the world’s only law journal offering scholars a forum in which to present comparative, international and national research dealing specifically with issues of law and human rights in the Asia-Pacific region.

Asian Perspective applies an Asian lens to world and comparative politics. With its vital contemporary focus, it probes the regional, international, and transnational issues that affect Asia today. Asian Perspective is peer-reviewed and publishes quarterly. It is produced with the Institute for Far Eastern Studies at Kyungnam University. Now in its fourth decade, the journal welcomes interdisciplinary research and is committed to promoting a lively exchange of ideas between scholars and policymakers.

The leading scholarly journal in its field, covering all aspects of contemporary China including Taiwan. Its interdisciplinary approach covers a range of subjects including anthropology/sociology, literature and the arts, business/economics, geography, history, international affairs, law, and politics. Edited to rigorous standards by scholars of the highest repute, the journal publishes high-quality, authoritative research, keeping readers up to date with events in China. International in scholarship, The China Quarterly provides readers with historical perspectives, in-depth analyses, and a deeper understanding of China and Chinese culture. In addition to major articles and research reports, each issue contains a comprehensive Book Review section.

The leading journal of scholarship and policy in the field of international studies. For almost four decades it has set the agenda of the global debate on development discourses. As the most influential academic journal covering the emerging worlds, TWQ is at the forefront of analysis and commentary on fundamental issues of global concern.