Geological, Earth, and Planetary Sciences

• Selected resources on Geological, Earth, and Planetary Sciences

Finding Science Information

To get started finding information in the sciences, it's useful to know a little about the Science Information Life Cycle. The life cycle of information is different whether you're in the Sciences, Social Sciences, or Humanities. This tutorial from the UC Irvine Libraries is designed to help you understand the unique characteristics of information production in the Sciences so that you can use library resources effectively and efficiently:

Science Information Life Cycle

Geological Sciences Databases

Databases are the best way to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles and e-prints. Several key databases are listed below, but if you're having trouble finding something, try one of the many databases listed on our Geological Sciences Databases page.

Geological Science Databases
Several of the key databases are listed below but if you're having trouble finding something, try one of the many databases listed here.

AGU (American Geophysical Union) Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the following scholarly journals published by the American Geophysical Union (AGU): all seven sections of Journal of Geophysical Research (JGR), Geophysical Research Letters, Radio Science, Reviews of Geophysics, Space Weather, and Water Resources Research.
Geological Society of London's Lyell Collection This link opens in a new window
Represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. Includes 30,000 peer-reviewed articles, over 300 Special publication e-books, and full-text archives back to 1811, all published by the Geological Society of London.
GeoRef (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes and abstracts the geoscience literature of the world including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and dissertations. Coverage for North America is 1785 to the present; coverage for the rest of the world is from 1933 to the present.
National Map This link opens in a new window
The National Map comprises a variety of products and services that provide the Nation with access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories. Be sure to read the pdf "about" document.
Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 1,000 international technical and scientific publications on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal, and government publications. Water Resources Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search current and retrospective information from 12,000+ high-impact research journals worldwide. Provides seamless access to Science Citation Expanded (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900- ), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- ), Conference Proceedings Index (1990- ), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-2017). Cited reference searching enables tracking prior research, gauging the impact of research, and to locate articles that share common references.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals and e-books published by Elsevier. Indexes and abstracts articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to the full-text of thousands of journals and e-books published by Springer Nature in chemical sciences, economics, environmental sciences, life sciences, law, medicine, computer science, engineering, geosciences, mathematics, statistics, and physics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, e-books, book chapters and major reference works published by Wiley in science, technology, medicine, business, humanities and social sciences. Significant full text.