- Find Information
- Research Guides
- eMBA Orientation
eMBA Orientation
Head of Research Engagement and Scholarly Communication
Library Database vs Web
A library database is an organized collection of searchable premium proprietary content made available to UTSA users through library subscriptions. May be referred to as e-resource. Access through the library website.
Content on the web may be free or fee-based. Access by searching in browsers and apps, or typing in URLs. You don't have to login through the library website.
Business databases may include a wide variety of content such as journal articles, trade pubs, e-books, newspapers; industry, company, country and market research data and reports; statistics and data, including financial data; streaming media, and analytical tools.
Access
Remote Access
Almost all library e-resources are available to UTSA users remotely through the library website. You will need to first set up Duo authentication. When you login to a database, you will be prompted to enter your abc123 and passphrase through Single Sign-on and complete Duo.
Where to Find a Database
- If you know the name of a database, go to Databases A to Z or browse by subject.
- Search for books and articles using Library Quick Search, a discovery tool that searches across multiple databases. Please note that many business databases are not searchable through Library Quick Search and have to be searched individually.
- Explore Research Guides to get familiar with relevant resources by a subject area.
Onsite Access on Designated Workstations
Some e-resources require access through a designated workstation:
- BloombergProvides analysis and quotes for equities and indices; current company, industry, and market news; and economic data for countries around the world.
UTSA faculty, students, and staff can search Bloomberg from one of sixteen workstations. One workstation is located in the 2nd floor Business Information Hub in the John Peace Library building. Fifteen workstations are located in the Financial Studies Lab in the Alvarez College of Business.
Both UTSA Libraries and Alvarez College of Business don’t have access to Bloomberg Anywhere - equivalent to the Bloomberg Terminal via the web.
Bloomberg Terminal’s Log-in Requirement:
• Bloomberg is only available on designated workstations at UTSA.
• First-time users: in order to obtain your Bloomberg login credentials, please log into a Bloomberg workstation with your UTSA abc123 and register with the Bloomberg system using your UTSA email.
